Limoncello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2009
I agree that this recipe is a bit sweet, so I just used 1 1/2 cups sugar. That is why I only gave it 4 stars. The extra lemon zest added to the simple syrup is a great idea! So is using a vegetable peeler. I would also remind everyone that most store bought lemons are coated with wax, so make sure you let them sit in VERY hot water first and rub off the wax. I use 1/2 a jigger of this in my Cosmopolitan drink and also make a sorbet with it. LOVE IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
This is a simpler version of my recipe. My limoncello ages for 80 days but is well worth it. The more it sits the smoother it is. Donot skip on the aging and make sure to keep it in the freezer. Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by margomery
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Buy and use a Microplane zester - it's the best tool for zesting lemons and making Limoncello!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
very easy and tastes authentic. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Terrific and so fun! I made a double batch & gave it for Christmas gifts. I started the process in late October with homegrown Meyer lemons. I too peeled them instead of zesting-wasn't hard at all. After 3 weeks I strained that and added the lemon syrup (boiled more peel with the sugar and water) I only used 2 cups of sugar after reading other reviews. I let this sit another 3 weeks and then decanted it. Everyone loved it at the holidays- and it will only get better as it sits. Kept a little for me for this summer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
So far, the receivers of the bottles I gave as Christmas gifts say that this was good! The limoncello I've had before was not as bright of a yellow color as mine turned out to be... unfortunately, I'm not in a state that grows lemons - perhaps fresh off-the-tree would have been best. Very fun to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
I made this for my friend for her birthday, and she loved it! I put it in a decorative bottle with some candied lemon peel. It looked really cool and tasted even better. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
If you like lemon, you will love this! I almost always have a bottle of homemade limoncello in my refrigerator. I serve it in martini glasses filled with ice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMS13408

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Haven, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Cut the sugar in half. Nice!! Can't wait to try it with oranges. Definitely peeling the lemon skin is the only way to go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
Takes some time, but well worth the wait. I always have a bottle waiting in my freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Taylors Falls, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a vodka strawberry lemonade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States