Limoncello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
STRONG!!! You just need a splash or so. Add to lemonade and/or tea for a refreshing, simple summer cocktail.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Absolutely delicious when I add a few drops of lemon juice. This is the first tiime I made any liquer recipe. Easy to follow and wonderfully thick, when chilled
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
I found this easy and delicious. I used a small flat hand held cheese shredder. I have made it twice and also made a small lime test batch. I did not use glass with corks but old peach jars (and an old sauce jar which had a hint of sauce scent and the limoncello overpowered it). Next time I will step down the sugar as suggested above.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2011
I used 1.5 cups of sugar, and 3 cups water. Tastes great so far, I imagine it will be even more delicious once it's aged and served ice cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
Super easy and wonderful beverage. I used a vegetable peeler to peel the lemons and it was quick. The first mixture filled one one-quart mason jar (I used a 750 ml bottle of vodka, not a liter) along with the peels. Then step 2 with the simple syrup filled two large mason jars perfectly. I enjoyed this mixed 1:1 with cranberry juice in a martini glass - similar to a cosmo. If you like sweet cocktails this recipe is for you. IMPORTANT: Be sure to cool the simple syrup as stated in the directions or your alcohol will burn off - and you wouldn't want that! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenna4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Sorry, but I honestly do not think you you should call this limoncello. Perhaps lemon vodka would be better. Limoncello is made with grain alcohol, and is a bit of a process to get a great product. To those of you who like this, I suggest you made real limoncello, you will LOVE it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Some suggestion. Since you are using only the outer skin of the lemon, look for organic lemons that have not been treated with nasty stuff. Look for lemon varieties that have a thick skin and are high in essential oils. Try peeling thin strips with a potato peeler. A zester will prematurely release the oils in the skin. Try to avoid the pith (white part) as this is what causes bitterness. Also try an alternative sweetener such as agave instead of refined sugar for a warmer palate feel. This recipe will create a Limoncello that is a little low in alcohol over traditional Limoncello. If you are using Vodka (40% 80 proof) the final alcohol will be less that 20% instead of 30-35%. It will freeze at this proof. A higher proof alcohol will extract out the oils and color faster. We love Limoncello so much we started a company in Sonoma to produce it commercially. Check out www.hellosonoma.com Salute! Limoncello di Sonoma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
Absolutely wonderful. I have a year round loaded lemon tree so this will become a staple at our house. I adjusted the recipe for a 750 ml bottle--8 lemons, 3 cups water & 2 cups sugar. Going to try the creamy version next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I love this recipe! I have chosen to age the Zest a little longer (2 weeks) and then once the simple syrup was added another month. I have also taken a Vanilla bean or two, slice them open and added them to the second aging process. It's called Mellocello...fabulous over ice and boy does it sneak up on you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
Very good, I had a grater that worked perfectly for the lemons(zester/grater by microplane), came out a little too sweet for my taste but still great. Next time I am going to try and find some whole grain alcohol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a vodka strawberry lemonade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States