Limoncello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
It is wonderful! Getting ready to make another batch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by southerner
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Used everclear as suggested by other reviewers. Turned out perfect. Love the sweet lemony taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I've made Limoncello many times, can also use Lime or Orange, whatever is available and most reasonably priced. Changes I make because my family love Lemon ... is 4 cups water, 4 cups sugar and 1 cup of the squeezed lemon juice: pulp, seeds and all. I only use a lemon zest, any white will ruin the sweet tart aftertaste to bitter! I throw everything into my 4 Litre container right off the bat, and let it stew a week or so until the flavor is right! Strain and bottle, storing in the fridge ... transfer to deep freeze before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent. Comparable to Limoncello served on Princess Cruises. Made it with Everclear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Best limoncello I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I used a potato peeler to peel the lemons. I added a few more lemons and used about 15. Afterwards, I juiced the lemons and saved it. After the melding process was completed, I used two cups of water and used the other two cups using the fresh lemon juice I had saved. It gave the Limoncello a very lemony flavor, sweet and sour, and a beautiful yellow hue. Looked beautiful in bottles and gave as gifts! A huge hit! My mother loves a generous splash in homemade iced tea to give it a little kick! Bon Appetit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Judy7905
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2013
While I'm not an expert on limoncello, this isn't anything like Pallini, which is my gold standard. It is too thickly sweet, not lemony enough and not potent enough. It won't go to waste but I will try another recipe next time AND use Everclear. I will also use peels instead of gratings. I used a vanilla bean as recommended by a reviewer and while not bad, I didn't like the color tinge or the lack of citrus kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
In reading all of the reviews beforehand, I thought that I had this recipe down pat. 1/2 of the sugar, use everclear, let steep for 2 weeks with lemon peels, 1 week with simple syrup then freeze. I should have done 3/4 of the sugar for personal preference. I had to do 1 1/2s time the recipe as I was only able to buy everclear in 1.75L bottles. I have four lovely bottles of this in my freezer and more than enough taste testers to make me want to start on my next batch. Let me play with it at 3/4 sugar and rate again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Arizona Desert Flower

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
Decent. Too sweet. Next time I will look for a recipe that calls for Everclear instead of vodka and that also includes milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
the Recipe works, However I have to add some common sense and flavor here that I found to be an upgrade in luxury so to speak. I add one half of a fresh split Vanilla Bean to the Vodka and MEYER lemon Peel stage. then I can not see any reason not to use the juice from the MEYER from 10 lemons you will get just about 2 cups of juice, (its not as acidic) I incorporate this floral juice into my simple syrup (meaning I use it then only 2 cups of water and 3 cups sugar) then continue with the layout of this Recipe. you will really enjoy this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a vodka strawberry lemonade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States