Limoncello Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I made this and it turned out great, however, I did make a change or two. After reading a few reviews about using vodka, I chose to use Golden Grain so it wouldn't have a vodka taste. I also let the lemon peels sit in the Golden Grain for 40 days. I then strained it and added the simple syrup mixture and let it sit for another 2 days. I poured the limoncello into cute bottles I found at the store and put them in the freezer. My friend went to Rome and I asked her to taste their limoncello and compare it to mine. She said mine taste just like there's did in Rome! I am very happy with this recipe.... I'll try making meloncello next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2015
I used Everclear which is grain alcohol @ 190 proof so when it gets diluted it is closer to 35-40 percent abv like it is supposed to be. Plus I use organic lemons then clean them with fruit and vegetable cleaner before peeling them. I use a veggie peeler to peel skins so it leaves most of the pith behind. If you want a more refine clearer drink when you strain off peel use a coffee filter with a strainer to catch the fine pieces. Then re filter before bottling. I let peels ferment for 3-4 weeks then strain with filter. Then add simple syrup then let it ferment a couple weeks then bottle. I have also made it with oranges and limes as well they are just as good. As far as sugar and water some like it sweet and some don't plus depends on fruit bitterness so you may have to adjust to your liking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mark Neff

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This is a very good recipe. Does anyone know why you boil the syrup 15 whole minutes? Or why it says to not stir it? Both seem to extend the process. Its summer you know. I hate to heat up the kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2015
My neighbor & I made this recipe and loved it. We followed the instructions pretty closely (we added the zest of a couple of additional lemons), and the flavor was excellent; it has a nice lemon flavor, not boozy at all. We used Eureka lemons from my neighbor's tree. For the vodka, we used Tito's. I have recently been to Sorrento, Italy (the home of limoncello) and this recipe was as good as or better than any of the many limoncello's I tried there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
This was spectacular! We will definitely make this regularly. I didn't use a particularly expensive vodka, but it didn't matter. Also, I got busy, so the zest sat for almost three weeks before I strained it and added the sugar water. I used a grater-type zester...took a little time, but was worth it. I used a 2 quart mason jar for the zest part...that made almost 3 wine bottles worth when mixed with the sugar water. We're buying small wine bottles and making a couple batches to give as Christmas gifts. Basically, I was able to make $70 worth of limoncello for about $15. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianafolkmusic

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
It is wonderful! Getting ready to make another batch right now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by southerner
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
Used everclear as suggested by other reviewers. Turned out perfect. Love the sweet lemony taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2014
I've made Limoncello many times, can also use Lime or Orange, whatever is available and most reasonably priced. Changes I make because my family love Lemon ... is 4 cups water, 4 cups sugar and 1 cup of the squeezed lemon juice: pulp, seeds and all. I only use a lemon zest, any white will ruin the sweet tart aftertaste to bitter! I throw everything into my 4 Litre container right off the bat, and let it stew a week or so until the flavor is right! Strain and bottle, storing in the fridge ... transfer to deep freeze before serving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
Excellent. Comparable to Limoncello served on Princess Cruises. Made it with Everclear.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancypants

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Best limoncello I have ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Red Hot Liqueur

This beautiful, sweet-and-spicy, cinnamon-flavored liqueur is so easy to make.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Strawberry Lemonade Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender mix a vodka strawberry lemonade.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States