Lime Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Loved this! I love lime jello. I've been eating a variation of this for almost 30 years. My mom used to make it every Christmas, just for me. She would add a splash of vinegar, a pinch of salt, let it partially set in the fridge, and while it was still wobbly would add grated carrots, tiny shrimp and finely cut green onions and celery, mix it all up, pop it back in the fridge to set. It was fantastic with leftover turkey buns the next day, too! Brings back very good memories for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
My mom makes this with added chopped celery and sliced green pimento stuffed olives. No nuts or salt needed. The olives add a nice salty flavor. Love it and I am a picky eater.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by goldnsoft

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richland, Washington, USA
Living In: Dallas, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2015
Our Perfection Salad was lime jello, shredded cabbage, pickle relish and sliced green olives. Perfect sweet and sour combination. Always a favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Potts

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Have had this all my life..without the nuts but will try that...comfort food for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Smith
Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe was not my or my family's "cup of tea". I think we would have enjoyed it more with the addition of some fruit and with the exclusion of the salt. I thought the walnuts were a nice addition. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Kimberley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My mom's variation added some crushed pineapple. You then add the pineapple juice to sotened cream cheese to make a creamy dressing for the salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Sorry but this just didn't do it for me and I love Lime Jello. The cabbage was bland and felt like a mouthful when the jello was gone. We did use pecans instead of walnuts and they were the best part of the dish. I will say it does look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Pretty good base you can put in what ever you like ,vegatable,fruit ,nuts. I've tried zuccinni,pineapple,almonds. and it was very good .Used miracle whip for a topping on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I logged online yesterday to find a recipe using cabbage (it's in season and super cheap so I have a ton of it). I chuckled when I saw this one, as its something I've been eating for years, but without all the extra stuff...I'd just eat the shredded cabbage and jello which I love. Last night I followed this recipe, adding the extra goodies, and loved it! Why eat just at holiday time? It's perfect for whenever!! Especially when it's in season!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I have eaten this since I was little. I am 35 now and still enjoy it. Try it with a spoonful of miracle whip on top. May sound weird but very tasty! I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lemont Furnace, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States