Lime Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Have had this all my life..without the nuts but will try that...comfort food for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe was not my or my family's "cup of tea". I think we would have enjoyed it more with the addition of some fruit and with the exclusion of the salt. I thought the walnuts were a nice addition. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Kimberley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My mom's variation added some crushed pineapple. You then add the pineapple juice to sotened cream cheese to make a creamy dressing for the salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Sorry but this just didn't do it for me and I love Lime Jello. The cabbage was bland and felt like a mouthful when the jello was gone. We did use pecans instead of walnuts and they were the best part of the dish. I will say it does look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Pretty good base you can put in what ever you like ,vegatable,fruit ,nuts. I've tried zuccinni,pineapple,almonds. and it was very good .Used miracle whip for a topping on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I logged online yesterday to find a recipe using cabbage (it's in season and super cheap so I have a ton of it). I chuckled when I saw this one, as its something I've been eating for years, but without all the extra stuff...I'd just eat the shredded cabbage and jello which I love. Last night I followed this recipe, adding the extra goodies, and loved it! Why eat just at holiday time? It's perfect for whenever!! Especially when it's in season!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I have eaten this since I was little. I am 35 now and still enjoy it. Try it with a spoonful of miracle whip on top. May sound weird but very tasty! I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lemont Furnace, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I have eaten this ever since I can remember but we knew it as "perfection salad". My mother made without the nuts. It was made in a 9x13 glass baking pan and served a topping of mayonaise which really adds to its delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I love this! I've been making this for about 22 years now. I make it for all the holidays. And the family loves it. Now have 5 grandchildren and they want Nana's jello salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I've been hunting for this recipe for a while, an elderly friend used to bring something similar to potlucks. It is a little unusual but quite refreshing. I prefer it without the walnuts. It is also interesting to add tiny shrimp to it along with the cabbage and carrot. Sounds odd, but it's a pretty good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Napa Cabbage Salad

This flavorful, crunchy salad will be a hit at your next potluck.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States