Lime Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
Have had this all my life..without the nuts but will try that...comfort food for me..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
This recipe was not my or my family's "cup of tea". I think we would have enjoyed it more with the addition of some fruit and with the exclusion of the salt. I thought the walnuts were a nice addition. Thanks for sharing this recipe, Kimberley!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
My mom's variation added some crushed pineapple. You then add the pineapple juice to sotened cream cheese to make a creamy dressing for the salad. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Doug Matthews
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
Sorry but this just didn't do it for me and I love Lime Jello. The cabbage was bland and felt like a mouthful when the jello was gone. We did use pecans instead of walnuts and they were the best part of the dish. I will say it does look great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Doug Matthews

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princeton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Mendham, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Pretty good base you can put in what ever you like ,vegatable,fruit ,nuts. I've tried zuccinni,pineapple,almonds. and it was very good .Used miracle whip for a topping on the side
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by leftoverQueen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I logged online yesterday to find a recipe using cabbage (it's in season and super cheap so I have a ton of it). I chuckled when I saw this one, as its something I've been eating for years, but without all the extra stuff...I'd just eat the shredded cabbage and jello which I love. Last night I followed this recipe, adding the extra goodies, and loved it! Why eat just at holiday time? It's perfect for whenever!! Especially when it's in season!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I have eaten this since I was little. I am 35 now and still enjoy it. Try it with a spoonful of miracle whip on top. May sound weird but very tasty! I promise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lemont Furnace, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2008
I have eaten this ever since I can remember but we knew it as "perfection salad". My mother made without the nuts. It was made in a 9x13 glass baking pan and served a topping of mayonaise which really adds to its delicious combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
I love this! I've been making this for about 22 years now. I make it for all the holidays. And the family loves it. Now have 5 grandchildren and they want Nana's jello salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Massena, New York, USA
Living In: Ansonia, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I've been hunting for this recipe for a while, an elderly friend used to bring something similar to potlucks. It is a little unusual but quite refreshing. I prefer it without the walnuts. It is also interesting to add tiny shrimp to it along with the cabbage and carrot. Sounds odd, but it's a pretty good salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States