Lime Gelatin Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I followed the recipe with the added ingredient of the 1/2 cup pineapple juice. Didn't cook the pinapple either as it was a can. Everyone liked how it was NOT THAT SWEET (great for serving with a meal). I wishied it was sweeter as I served it as a dessert. Pretty, festive, and I think for more than 9 servings. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is a great recipe - it makes a lot! I used sugar free jello and it came out great. Otherwise, I followed the recipe exactly. It was suggested to use cool whip instead of whipping cream. Next time I will try that - to lighten it up a bit. Although it is sinfully delicious as is. I will make this salad for the next potluck or cook out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Yummy. My great grandma used to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
I've been making this recipe for as long as I can remember. I got it from my grandma, and streamlined it by "blenderizing" it rather than just mashing the pears. SO yummy, smooth and refreshing. It has become just as important as Green Bean cassrole & Candied Yams on our Thanksgiving table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2005
I was looking for a lime gelatin salad recipe for my mom and this one fit the bill. I made the recipe as stated and it turned out just fine. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Since I can remember growing up this has always been a favorite at holiday dinners. My Aunt was always in charge of bringing it but when she passed away no one knew how to make it. I have searched and tried many this was the closest. The only thing I do differently is I drain the pineapple first. This is how I get my half cup of pineapple juice. Also after the Jell-O has set a little I whip the Jell-O also it makes it creamier. I blend the cream cheese and pineapple together before adding to the Jell-O and we do not add any nuts. I am so glad I found this recipe. Thank You SHECOOKS2 Also total liquid should be 2 cups so 1 1/2 cups boiling water and 1/2 cup pineapple juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This a very tasty dish, and my family often requests it. I don't add the whipping cream-- too much fat. It's just fine without it-- maybe a little tangier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
If done right, this is a good recipe. There is absolutely no need to cook canned pineapple. For the water, use 1 cup and then add 1/2 cup pineapple juice. You can get that from the can of drained pineapple or from a regular can of pineapple juice. I've made this recipe for many years. It's delicious also with canned pears added or canned pears alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
I started to make this recipe because it sounded good, but then, as I was making it, I realized it wasn't quite right. The ingredients call for 1 1/2 cups water, but the directions call for 1 cup water and 1/2 cup pineapple juice. I didn't have the pineapple juice, since it wasn't listed in the ingredients, I didn't buy it. I tried draining my canned pineapple juice, but didn't get anywhere near 1/2 a cup. I called a friend who makes a similar salad. She says hers calls for 3 cups of liquid. This one has 2. I decided to add the 3 just to be safe. Also, this recipe asks for the pineapple to be cooked. I decided not too, since it was neither fresh, nor frozen, I figured it wouldn't interfere with the jello setting up. It was a good recipe, once I had it figured out, but I'm glad I didn't just dive into it or ask one of the kids to do it or it may have not turned out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Strawberry Pretzel Salad

It's salty! It's sweet! Your family will love this dessert salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States