Lime Gelatin Salad I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
I have been making this salad for over 55 years -- but we have always included small chopped pieces of celery -- try it with celery - just perfect to us. At Christmas always decorate with maraschino cherries -- now going to try as suggested red jello on top -- t1hank you for recipe -- lost my original written recipe. Oh, I forgot to mention -- have never heated pineapple - just dump whole can crushed pineapple into partially set jello with celery and chopped walnuts. Let set in refrigerator 15 to 30 minutes then fold in whipped cream. Have also used 1 small lemon jello with 1 small lime jello and sometimes small curd cottage cheese -- especially good in summer with the cottage cheese. macshirley
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcminnville, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2014
I love this jello salad!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Livengood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2014
Made this for a family cookout lats night and everyone LOVED it. I read the negative reviews for this, and disagree. I did everything exactly as the recipe called for, though I'm not sure what not heating the pineapples would do to it. We all liked it a lot :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Great recipe. I made a few changes for people watching their carbs. I used sugar free Jello, used half the amount of pineapple and juice (made up the liquid in water -- it was still plenty sweet. Used walnuts because that's the kind of nuts I had. We loved it, and it was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
This is a perfect recipe for Homestuckers looking for a good Sopor Slime recipe! And this is someone who literally spent months looking for a good sopor recipe that gave the opaque-ness and color of sopor in the comic and still tasted good. When I first tried it I didn't have any lime (only lemon) jello and no whipping cream. Even then, it turned out great with a little bit of improvised coffee creamer and milk! My second attempt was with Green Apple Jolly Rancher jello. The flavor of the pineapple juice (I didn't add the pecans or the solid pineapples to keep the aesthetic, I also added a bit of green food coloring) combined with the green apple jello is very unique and a perfect mix! Next time I plan on making it in a pre-crusted pie tin for Sopor Pie and maybe also use some sort of mold to make them into little snackables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ReneePaj
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I lightened this recipe up by subbing 2 pkgs SF lime jello, FF cool whip, and reduced fat cream cheese (and only used 6 oz.) I didn't understand why you needed to boil the pineapple in it's juice, so I omitted that step. I used walnuts instead of pecans, because that's what I had on hand. I've made similar salads like this in the past, they are delicious, but more of a dessert than a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ReneePaj

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Brunswick, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
This is the fifth or sixth year I have been making this recipe and we love it. It is one of the things that my family asks for every single Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
delicious!! I make this every year during the holidays... friends & family always say "oh noooo, not that green thing again," but it's always the first dish to be finished! I add walnuts instead of pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
I have loved this recipe since I was 3 yrs old (so 42 yrs.) As an adult I call it "Big Spoon Salad" because I'll keep returning to the fridge with a big spoon (tablespoon ) and get a spoonful at a time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I love this recipe, though I add small curd cottage cheese and eliminate the nuts (kids tend not to like them).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Cranberry Salad II

This salad is bursting with fruit and nuts, and is a great holiday side dish.

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States