Lime-Curry Tofu Stir-Fry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brit
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2014
I used reduced fat coconut milk, added some cayenne to hear it up and served it over brown rice Thai noodles. Very nice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2014
A great change of pace and a flexible recipe. I didn't have coconut milk, so I substituted (less) sweetened condensed milk. If you do this, leave out some or all of the maple syrup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
It is a good start although I think it is a little too sweet. Perhaps one can cut down on the maple syrup to just 1 tbsp? I agree with the other reviewers that fish sauce is the way to go but add to taste as it is saltier than soy sauce. I personally would prefer a little spicier and would suggest adding more curry paste than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2014
Five stars for the sauce alone! It tastes like it's from a Thai restaurant! I couldn't stop eating it! I followed the recipe exactly as written and feel that it came out too soupy. I ended up eating this with a spoon because of the extra liquid. I think next time I will use 1/2-3/4 of the can of coconut milk instead of a full can. Or, I will throw in more vegetables and maybe thicken the sauce with a bit of cornstarch. I will also take other reviewers' suggestion to substitute part of the soy sauce with fish sauce. I might also try adding garlic. Either way, this is SO good and I can see myself making this often! Make sure to press and dry off your tofu before frying, otherwise it'll splatter. And substituting curry powder for the red curry paste is not even close to the same thing. Definitely use the paste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Used canola oil and a bit of sesame oil because my son has a peanut allergy (any other ideas for substituting the peanut oil?). The lime and ginger give it a very fresh zesty taste. Was very quick to prepare and delicious. Only my two-year old didn't like it. He said 'it not tasty'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
New to cooking tofu, I was quite happy with this recipe (and my skills I if must say!) Use fish sauce for sure and freeze the tofu first before using. Allows for much of the water to evaporate out and you can just chip it off it one scrape. Plus someone told me it makes the tofu seem more the texture of meat. Even the kids loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Micki B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pattaya, Chon Buri, Thailand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2013
I took ZeldaSayre's advice and marinated/baked the tofu. SCORE! I subbed Agave syrup for the maple syrup and low-sodium Tamari for the soy sauce and it was perfect. I served it over brown basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamohr

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easton, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
I used a Korean stir fry sauce, add a little more red curry paste, and leave out the maple syrup. It gives it a little more heat which I love! I use this base recipe over and over again. So quick, easy, savory, spicy, and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber Hunt

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
Really good. I did sub one Tbsp of fish sauce for one of the Tbsp of soy as some others suggested. My zucchini had gone bad so I subbed in some broccoli instead and it was good that way. Thought I'd note that it also was great with a side of pineapple. Next time I'll try the zucchini and add some scallions... and perhaps a bit more basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
This is a very flavorful main dish, and my family loved it. I marinated and oven baked the tofu first, as suggested by some reviewers. To avoid curdling the milk, I added the milk last, after the lime juice is absorbed by the other ingredients. Keep in mind that the final product is a little soupy, so cut and cook the veggies to preserve their crunch. Great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ginger Veggie Stir-Fry

Your favorite veggies stir-fried with a mild garlic, ginger, and soy sauce.

Chicken Stir-Fry

A quick stir-fry that’s slightly sweet, slightly spicy and very veggie friendly.

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States