Lime Cilantro Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
My husband won't stop raving about this rice! I did make a few changes. I started with melting the butter, then sautéed 1/2 of an onion and 2 cloves garlic for about 5 minutes, added in the rice and cooked for 3-5 minutes, then added in chicken broth (instead of the water called for), and seasoned with salt and pepper to taste. Then cooked it according to the rice's package directions. And last I added in lime zest, lime juice, and cilantro just before serving. I did increase the lime juice to 3 tbsp, because we like limes in our household. Overall an amazing and delicious rice recipe that makes a wonderful side and is so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa Gould

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Caro, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Blanc, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2013
tastes like those burrito restaurants make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Simple and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
My hubby loooooved this rice. He said it's so much better than Chipotle rice. Well, I admit. I did change a bit but I think this recipe does give a very good basic?? idea. Well, my hubby doesn't like cilantro too much so I probably used about 2-3 TB spoon of it. For lime, I didn't put any zest it in cause I wasn't sure if I would like it. Oh, and I did use chicken broth just like other reviews suggested. My hubby loved it but I thought it was okay(still more than 3 stars though). I didn't like the butter smell too much. I'm a little too sensitive to smell so next time, I may try different type of oil. It was good in taco for sure. It didn't have whole a lot of flavor on its own but as a filling, it was definitely good. My hubby couldn't stop saying how much he liked this rice. Oh, and it's so easy to make. So it's definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
I liked this recipe, but I did tweak it a little. I used brown rice, cut the lime juice in half to 1 tablespoon, added fresh garlic, salt and butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This recipe is bright and delicious. I added more lime juice because I had no zest (only a squeeze bottle). I also added 1T of butter to finish. I thought the amount of cilantro was great, but I love cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I used Basmati rice. 2 tbsp. of olive oil then grated one large Clive of garlic. Sauté rice for a couple minutes. Added in salted chicken broth instead of water. Re pie was yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This recipe makes a great side dish for spicy Mexican recipes. Like naples34102 commented it was too limey when you tasted it alone but it paired beautifully when served with spicy meat. (I served it with the Slow Cooker Guisado Verde recipe from this site.) Modifying the Guisado Verde with Herdez Salsa Verde kicked the heat up beautifully in pork and this lime cilantro rice was ideal. Thanks I doubled the recipe (made no changes) and saved the leftovers to make burritos the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2013
I think if you are adding this into another dish it may be great. Standing on it's own didn't do much for us. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
Very good. I used a minute rice and followed box directions. Used fresh cilantro and a lime. I used 1 lime to 6 servings of rice. Not overpowering and very good under Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat. Topped with black beans and fresh corn. Family loved it. May have been a bit spicy for the little ones though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eyota, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken

Tender shredded chicken makes a 5-star filling for tacos and enchiladas.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Cranberry and Cilantro Quinoa Salad

See how to make a quinoa salad with dried cranberries.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States