Lime Chicken Soft Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
My family and neighbors love this recipe. I am actually cooking it right now for a pot puck at my husbands command (military). There are a few things I change up, and only because I originally did not have the exact ingredients this called for, but I now make it at least twice a month for Taco Tuesday. Here's my substitutions: First! Let me just say, I NEVER ADD SALT. Its bad for your blood pressure. And this turns out just fine. Its the whole reason I don't purchase packaged seasonings. Second, a teaspoon of sugar will not make you diabetic, but it will enhance the flavors in this dish. Next, I use White Cooking Wine (to taste - at least 1/4 c), then about two table spoons of Balsamic Vinegar. Last, i top this delicious taco off with a sour cream sauce that has become synonymous with these Lime Chicken Tacos. The ingredients are as follows (combine all, chill and serve): 1 c sour cream. 1/2 bunch fresh spinach chopped, 1 tbsp Lemon. 1 lime juiced (or 3 tbsp/to taste), and a pinch of sugar (optional). This makes the taco in my opinion. Top with a fresh garden salsa and you have a crowd pleaser that is far from your traditional beef packet taco's. ENJOY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charity

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Only change was to use cilantro instead of oregano. I think I prefer traditional tacos - not the fault of the recipe it's just a personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Urbana, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
needs more flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2014
I make these often. I don't really measure the vinegar. I marinate the chicken in half of the juiced lime and the zest, the garlic, onions, vinegar, sugar, salt and oregano. Then, when I am cooking it I add additional lime juice (because we like a pronounced lime flavor), and more of the other ingredients if needed. We use the monterey jack cheese and I would not suggest using any other cheese, but instead of the lettuce and salsa, we top these with sliced avocado, pico de gallo, and cilantro. We love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I followed another reader's advice -- I doubled the recipe and threw it all in the crockpot (shredding the chicken once finished). Delicious flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
Baked instead turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by papamobbs
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
Worg this recipe I added a little heat,some fresh guacamole and poco. Best taco I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
Took others advice and subbed cilantro for the oregano. Doubled the marinade (not as much sugar though). Perfect spring dinner! Loved this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2014
I had a leftover chicken breast so I skipped the saute step, cubed it, tossed it in the mixture and grilled it in a foil pack to heat through. The marinade simply coated the chicken and I wasn't sure how one simmers without liquid. I never have liquid left in the skillet after cooking chicken so I can't say it's because I used leftover chicken. It turn out good and had a nice flavor. Instead of lettuce I served cabbage pico de gallo with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Very good, but definitely swap the oregano for cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,606) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lime Chicken Soft Tacos

Check out these lime flavored chicken soft tacos.

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States