Lime Chicken Soft Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
After reading most of the reviews, so many people said they thought oregano was a poor fit for this dish. The reason for that is that there are 2 types of oregano: Italian (regular) and Mexican. Generally, unless your oregano is labeled Mexican or you bought it at a Mexican store, it is not. The flavor is very different and would probably taste good here. That being said, cilantro and cumin would be equally good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
This is SO easy to make! My picky kids love it so much they have 2nds and 3rds!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Delicious!!!! I was concerned while making these that they might be bland, but I was pleasantly mistaken. I followed the recipe EXACTLY and loved it. This is super simple and adds a wonderful flavor to the chicken. I bet it would be great as a marinade for grilled chicken breasts as well. Super easy and flavorful. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jemado

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flemington, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Overall this was a hit. I made a few substitutions based on what I had on hand (used leftover poached shredded chicken; white wine vinegar instead of red; yellow onions instead of green). My husband and one of my 5-year-olds loved it; my other 5-year-old and myself liked it. If I make it again, I will use cumin instead of the oregano and might add cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
This recipe wasn't nearly as flavorful as I would have liked. The amount of reduction that they recommended adding didn't seem sufficient. I would try adding twice as much next time and also would add more lime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emu123

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
This is super yummy!!and it was so easy to make. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was a good sauce, which we doubled and used fresh cilantro. We will use it again, but find a way to add a little heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carol

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
These were decent. I liked the lime flavor but they were dry because they didn't need to cook that long. I also added 1/2 tsp of cumin and some cilantro and omitted the oregano as per other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I have made this recipe for my family and for guests and it is always a huge hit! I make the following modifications: use 1 whole lime instead of a half, 1 tsp salt, and put all ingredients in the crock pot and shred chicken when cooked. Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
too far from tradition
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chickpea2009

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,578) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pablito's Chicken Tacos

See how to put a fresh twist on an old Mexican standard.

Chicken Tacos

See how to make quick-and-easy chicken tacos.

Chicken Breasts with Lime Sauce

See how to make tender breaded chicken breasts in a lime and butter sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States