Lime Bars Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
My 14 year old daughter made these for the first time for a cookie exchange. She wanted something different from the usual desserts. These bars are great. She followed the directions as written adding only a little more lime zest since we had it. The family thought they were full of flavor and her friends really liked them also. This will be one of our "go to" recipes. Enjoy! (P.S. I would encourage cooking the crust longer so it is brown and crisper.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Shelby Randall
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2014
So my lime tree is exploding limes, naturally, I am looking for any and every way to use them (extra Limey gin and tonics?!). About this recipe. It was alright. I went with some of the comments and doubled the lime juice and zest and I also used only about half of the crust and doubled the filler. Here's a list of what I liked: the glaze absolutely is necessary because the filler doesn't have any sugar so without the glaze it will be too tart, the added food coloring, the tartness mixed with sweet crust/glaze (it's hard to find a good tart lemon or lime bar), definitely glad I halved the crust and doubled the filling. Things I did not like: the crust was not crust like it was almost chewy...needed more flour or maybe shortening instead, next time I'm going to go with the suggested amount of lime...maybe a hair more. Otherwise the bars were yummy...but remember one thing folks...use the glaze!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelby Randall

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
I made these with gluten free flour and they were delish! Next time I would make the following changes: there was too much crust for the amount of lime topping. So I would either use less flour or a much larger baking dish and spread it thinner. Secondly I would use more limes- I used two and got a little over 1/3 cup but it would have been even better with more. Lastly I would eliminate the 1/4 c flour from the lime topping - totally not needed. It gave the lime mixture a floury taste which I didn't like. I didn't use the glaze - just sprinkled powdered sugar on top. Also, I used less white sugar than the recipe called for, based on what other reviewers suggested. I think I used maybe 1 1/4 cups - I wanted it tangy. I baked at 325 F on convection setting and it was done in 20 min. Yummy!! Definitely one to try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah Jones

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I love this twist on the traditional Lemon bars and my husband raved over them!! We live in the Carribean where limes are a local fruit and they added such a fresh, delicious flavor to the bars. I will certainly add this recipe to our list of family favorites. I would agree though, that the crust was a little too much for the ratio of lime mixture. But otherwise, its a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2014
Tasted great but waaaay too much sugar for us. Next time I'll try cutting back by half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I followed the recipe all though the bars had good flavor the were very thin...next time I will double the filling or go to a smaller baking pan. Thanks, Happy Cooking
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StickySue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Jharmon27
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Delicious. If I were making these for company, I would have followed the recipe exactly. But it was just for my own family, so I cut the sugar back to 1 1/2 cups (in the lime mixture) and just lightly dusted with Powdered Sugar (instead of the glaze.) I also only used 1 1/2 sticks of butter in the crust (versus 2.) My husband said they were to die for! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jharmon27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
made these for the Super Bowl party and they were a huge hit! Great color if you are a Seahawk fan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Avon- status quo PRO

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MAKGAMBIT
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
Love them, but I don't do the glaze usually.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAKGAMBIT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
Wow, talk about good. These were a huge hit at our tailgate party. Sweet and tangy , and frankly I liked these a lot better than lemon bars. We didn't use the frosting and opted for the powder sugar dusting instead. Delicious and incredibly easy !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

(Gluten Free) Magic Cookie Bars

Watch how to make these sweet gluten-free dessert bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States