Lime-Aid Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2012
My friend used to make a similar drink which she called "Green Meanies" and we loved it! This drink is even better, so glad to have found it. It's like a vodka version of a margarita, but you can't even taste the alcohol so drink with caution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Gatos, California, USA
Living In: Colfax, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
A four as is, a five with a tweak. I used one 12oz limeade, one can of water, 1 cup of regular vodka, and a half cup of UV Cherry vodka. This makes a cherry limeade! When it comes time to make another batch for the party, I just use less of the regular vodka and more of the cherry vodka since it's got a slightly lower alcohol content. The UV Chery Vodka is essential since it's red and smells just like grenadine. You can't go wrong with this mix! I also like to put about 6 frozen strawberries in just the vodka and let them soak a bit before mixing the drink. It's a fun treat later on. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Wow. Drinking this now and am in heaven. I am a low carber, so used diet lime cordial and smirnoff vodka. Added extra lime juice and blended til it was nice and "slushy". So good, and pretty "healthy" too! ** Just added two strawberries to the mix - brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ruby_cube

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
Excellent. Love one reviewer's strawberry idea as I discovered early on that they taste great with this. I did add some fresh squeezed lime juice for a little extra flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
An old family favorite.......when my Grandmother was alive she would make these exactly as written plus 3 tablespoons of coconut snow. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HB Sue

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pasadena, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
As another reviewer suggested I use either Simply Limeaid or the mintue maid one. For me the lime is overpowering. But if you add just a small splash of orange juice it takes the bite out of the lime. The perfect drink. I also just use vodka, limeaid and orange juice. Be very careful!!! You can make these drinks really strong and not taste the liquor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
My family has been making this since the 60's! We never add water -- it is also great with lemonade or pineapple concentrates! Alcohol is added to taste preference (of course)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
This is a great summer drink. I've made this for years and years and we use the Limeaid can to measure 6 ounces of Vodka and omit the water. When I was young, my mother made these for neighborhood parties and she used just a can of water and omitted the Vodka for a batch for the kids to enjoy as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael & Nina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
My cocktail of record is a low cal version of this one: two fresh squeezed limes, one packet of Splenda, count to ten as you pour the gin and top off with water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Wow--so refreshing...and you don't taste a trace of the alcohol. Just FYI- one ounce is equal to 2 tablespoons. I actually added 12 more ounces of water (use the juice concentrate container), another 1/2 cup of vodka, fresh squeezed juice from 4 limes, and 1/4 cup of sugar. I served this over the ice instead of blending it all together--sooo good. This is one of THE best alcoholic drinks I have ever had!! Great with Cuban or Mexican food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Moscow Mule Cocktail

A thoroughly refreshing vodka, lime juice, and ginger beer cocktail.

Gimlet Cocktail

See how to make a gimlet cocktail with vodka or gin.

The Vortex Cocktail

Watch a professional bartender make a sweet and fruity vodka cocktail.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States