Lima Bean Pasta Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I grew up hating lima beans. But I actually liked this dish. I didn't have tarragon, so I substituted a combination of fennel and anise. Also, I used lima beans cooked from dry. I liked what sauteing did to the flavor and texture of the limas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
This was one of the BEST pasta dishes that I have had in a long time. It is VERY easy to make and is done in the time it takes to boil pasta. If I could have given it 10 stars I would have. Even my 2 and 4 year old sons ate it and they do not like any veggies. Yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRUISEM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toms River, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2008
I had a can of lima beans that was an "inheritance" from my old roommate. This looked like the most appetizing way to cook them, and after actually trying the recipe, I think I was right. I still didn't like it very much, but I'll give you credit for finding a way to make lima beans palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beckerkorn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2007
Admittedly, I didn't actually make the pasta; however, I found this recipe to dress up my lima beans. I added Lawrey's garlic salt and parmesan cheese (based on this recipe), and they were the best lima beans I've ever eaten. Will definitely try the complete recipe next time, but will also continue to make the beans this way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Well I was going for different and found it. Very good too. I love lima beans and I love pasta so it was clearly a good match for my tastes. This was a fantastic meatless dish, Thanks so much. I truly enjoyed this one! I scaled this down for just myself and wished now there had been leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
I made this twice, exactly as written, because I had some tarragon to use up. It's a decent recipe, but nothing spectacular. Cheese and garlic are always good, though, and I was surprised that just two cloves of garlic went a long way in this recipe. Mainly, the reason I give this 3 and not 4 stars is that, though I like most beans, lima beans are pretty boring to me, even here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2005
A very quick and easy recipe. Good if you like pasta, want a break from the typical pasta recipes (which I did) but don't want to try something really complicated. This took very little time to make, is probably very healthy, and tasted very good. The tarragon, garlic, and the beans complement each other perfectly, especially with Parmesan cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sparta, New Jersey, USA
Living In: New Brunswick, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Different and pretty good. Four stars with five-star potential with some tweaking. I followed the recipe except I used frozen lima beans (after cooking them about halfway). With a little more olive oil and a little more garlic, this will definitely be a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GolferGirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Lovely. I used fresh tarragon as I was looking for recipes that would allow me to use it, plus added half a can of diced tomato and a light sprinkle of crushed red pepper. Also I used farfella pasta just because I like it most. Very satisfying and pretty dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pati

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2007
I was a little hesitant about using tarragon, because I was not at all familiar with it. Turns out that I really like the flavor it gives this dish. I love this recipe and could eat it as a main course!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

How to Make Four Cheese Pasta

Learn how to make a creamy four-cheese pasta sauce in less than 10 minutes.

Fra Diavolo Sauce With Pasta

Watch how to make a nice and spicy shrimp and scallop pasta in this video.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States