Lima and Navy Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This is a very good soup and a great way to use up the extra ham from Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
A good, hearty soup. The flavour was fantastic, even though i didn't have the sausage to put in. I used cooked ham left over from Christmas dinner instead of the ham bone, and that worked fine. Next time, for convience's sake, I may use canned beans, but the dried ones worked well too. I gave this to my brother ( a college student) to fatten him up, and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I left out the sausage and the worchestershire sauce. Doubled the recipe and used 3 lbs. of boneless smoked ham hocks. Served about 30 people and the majority declared it the best bean soup they ever ate. My husband says it's a keeper and he always said my bean soup was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Great spice combination, very flexible. I wanted to use up some left-over ham, and didn't have time to run to the store to get more ingrediants to really follow the recipe, so I really butchered it. Essentially, I used a reasonable amount of the dried versions of the spices with three cans of beans (pinto, black-eyed peas, and kidney) instead of dried navy & lima beans, used sparkling apple cider instead of beer, used extra ham instead of Italian sausage, and left out the Worchestshire sauce, chives, and celery because I didn't have any on hand. I also threw in a green pepper for some color. The spices came out perfect even without measuring, and the cayenne added a great kick - my spice-loving fiance was thrilled! Next time I'll try hard apple cider, and more of it (don't usually have beer on hand). Sticking with the canned beans, too - much faster, the whole meal cooked in about an hour including prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I was really excited to make this recipe, but after 8 hours (!) of cooking, at least 1/3 of the beans were undercooked. Not sure what I did wrong, though, the instructions were unclear about whether the pot should have a lid. I opted to let it cook uncovered, and I found myself adding water regularly. Maybe the beans just didn't have enough water. Also, the recipe was pretty spicy, even with mild/sweet Italian sausage. Very salty, too. (It's if the recipe almost has TOO much flavor.) Fell somewhat flat at our family dinner table. Won't do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is a fabulous,full bodied, flavorful soup. We served it New Years day to our friends and it was well recieved. We didn't change a thing. We worried about the tomato paste, but it added rich color and flavor.My compliments to Marilyn G. for putting this on line. lal667
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Everyone in my family enjoyed this soup. I would suggest making a lot and freezing it to eat later because the prep time takes a while. Worth every minute though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2004
FABULOUS I DOUBLED IT AND IT WAS STILL GONE IN TWO DAYS I WANT TO MAKE A HAM JUST TO GET THE SOUP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2004
I hate to be the lone dissenter, but I thought this was only okay, and some of the ingredients (which might make the recipe look intimidating to some) were completely unneccesary and actually detracted from the soup's flavor, specifically the sausage and the fresh herbs. In the interest of economy, I recommend using whatever herbs you have on hand that are in the recipe (only less if dried). If I made this again, I would omit the sausage, too, and add either ham flavoring or extra ham because my family likes the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2004
This is a terrific hearty soup - especially with a leftover ham bone from a previous evenings dinner. I forgot to add the worcestershire and it still came out great! My 4 yr. old daughter loves it too! The cayenne really gives it bite, so if you are not one to crave spice, cut back to 1/2 tsp or less; the soup still has great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKERAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States