Lima and Navy Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This is hands down the best bean soup I've ever had in my life. The flavor and blend of spices is amazing. I didn't use the green onions, just used extra white onions per another user review. I also used dry spices since I didn't have fresh spices on-hand. Phenomenal!! My husband agrees that this is "a keeper"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2006
I thought this made a great soup! I did modify it quite a bit though. I didn't want to wait five hours for it to cook! I used 3 cans of great northern beans instead of the dried package, and I used one package of frozen lima beans. This cut cooking time down to about an hour. I also used about a pound of italian sausage since that was the smallest package I could find. I tried some Italian style stewed tomatoes which also added some flavor, and I substituted chicken broth for water and cut down to 1 tablespoon chicken base. It turned out to be excellent! This was my first chance to use my new food processor from Christmas, did that ever make this soup a snap!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
Maybe I'm old fashioned, but I prefer the standard navy bean soup to put my ham bone to use. I thought I'd try something different this time... big mistake. This had way too much going on - as well as many unnecessary ingredients (like green onions). The flavors were much too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sara

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Excellent soup. Followed directions and made a huge pot of thick, hearty and tasty soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
Great, nutritious and hearty soup. I use lean turkey Italian sausage and two large cans of fat-free chicken broth instead of the water and bouillion powder. The beans really absorb liquid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Appleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MROZINSKI
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
This was one of the best I have ever had. I made a double batch, You need a very very large pan to mix the ingredients. I used a cut up picnic ham cubed with the fat removed, instead of ham hocks. I Pulled two gallons out of the mixture and froze them before I started the main cooking process. The remaining mixture had to be cooked in a electric roaster. It was the only thing that was still large enough to cook it all. After the famaly ate all we wanted, I took it to work and 10 men were able to have a bowl full. All I heard all afternoon was that bean soup was really good, (along with all the reporting from the hind end). A few wanted the recipie for deer camps. By the way, I cooked it for several hours in that roaster at 350 degrees, and there was not one burnt spot on the bottom of the pan. I'll try the roaster thing for chilli, and others that tend to burn on the bottom of the pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MROZINSKI

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
This is a pretty good recipe--we just used the sausages and omitted the ham. Especially good with a little cheese or sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very good, I got a little carried away with the flat Italian parsley, but i never measure, just chop and throw it in the pot. Husband really enjoyed this soup, lots of good flavor, will definitely fix again. The recipe doesn't really specify, but some of the less experienced cooks may not know to pre-soak the beans. I used the quick soak method instead of overnite and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilsis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This soup was excellent, especially after simmering for 7 hours and letting the flavors meld overnight. I made several changes. I left out the sausage, the tomato paste and the basil, and halved the cayenne pepper. I used cranberry beans instead of dried lima beans and soaked the cranberry and navy beans for more than 24 hours prior to cooking. I put in 12 cups of water and just over 1 cup of tomato juice in at the beginning of the recipe, let the soup simmer partially covered, and did not need to add more liquid to the soup. The chicken soup base was added to taste at the end as I was not sure how much salt the ham hocks would add. A pound of ham cut into bits was added at the end of cooking, as was the meat from the ham hocks. Topped with fresh chives, this soup was hearty and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I received a honey-sliced ham for a Christmas gift, using the bone for this recipe. I also diced a cup or more of extra ham to add to the soup. This is a terrifically hearty soup, with a wonderfully complex flavor. I thought so many ingredients might be gratuitous, but the flavor was so good, I'd be afraid to leave anything out when I prepare it again. Yes, with so many ingredients, you will be in the kitchen for awhile. And the beans do take a long time to cook. Still, it's all worth it when your family keeps going back for seconds and thirds. As another reviewer mentioned, I found myself adding water as the soup continued to thicken. To retain the flavor, in adding so much water, I also added another teaspoon of chicken bouillon. Adding water did not hurt the flavor. My grocer did not have fresh chives, so I used dried. That's the only substitution I made. Don't think twice about making this one! Just do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States