Lima and Navy Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
This is time consuming, but far better than your average bean soup. Best I have had yet! Really never much cared for it until I made this homemade recipe myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
This is SOME GOOD SOUP!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Punta Gorda, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
This is without a doubt the best recipe! So much flavor! My family of seven loved it and I have a few picky eaters! We had 2 extra kids here who are very picky eaters, they eat boxed food only, and they loved it!! I omitted the stewed tomatoes and tomatoe paste. Did everything else the same and like I said it was the the bomb!! ;) Thank you for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I really enjoyed this soup and I believe it's the spices that make it all worth it! I modified according to the ingredients I had on hand, but the possibilites are endless with this recipe.... and it was awesome! I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
Oh WOW! This was amazing as is but thought it would even better if I added a little diced pumpkin to the pot and 'YUMMERS'. The beer gives this recipe it's wonderful flavour. Great with biscuits :) Thank you... I'm adding this to my faves!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Too many ingredients and wasn't very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: Grover Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
I found that when following this recipe it is best to soak both the navy and lima beans as per suggested on the package to soften them prior to adding to soup; otherwise the soup must cook much longer than the recipe calls for to soften the beans adequately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
OMG Whup-Butt Soup...The Perfect Morning After Remedy...I Even left out the Sausage, Tomato Products, Mustard Seed, Worcestershire Sauce, Thyme, and Cayenne Pepper....But I did add more Ham Chunks, and a can of Guinness Draught instead of just Regular Beer...Best Recipe On this Site, I Have Tried Hands-Down...My Compliments to Marilyn G. U Rock Girl.......
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celtic Bad Boy Poet Chef 7
Home Town: South Pasadena, California, USA
Living In: Dickinson, North Dakota, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Fantastic Soup - did not change a thing. Loved the complexity of flavors and the heartiness of the soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Yummy recipe!!! I added a few slices of jamoniberico de bellota also known as iberico ham or patanegra thinly cut. This Spanish ham has a strong and delicious flavor, therefore you do not need much, only 50 grams or 1.8 OZ for four people which I sprinkle once the soup is already served. You can find jamonibericoat BuyJamon.com BuyJamon.com the market place for iberico ham.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States