Lima and Navy Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
Very good, I got a little carried away with the flat Italian parsley, but i never measure, just chop and throw it in the pot. Husband really enjoyed this soup, lots of good flavor, will definitely fix again. The recipe doesn't really specify, but some of the less experienced cooks may not know to pre-soak the beans. I used the quick soak method instead of overnite and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lilsis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2006
This soup was excellent, especially after simmering for 7 hours and letting the flavors meld overnight. I made several changes. I left out the sausage, the tomato paste and the basil, and halved the cayenne pepper. I used cranberry beans instead of dried lima beans and soaked the cranberry and navy beans for more than 24 hours prior to cooking. I put in 12 cups of water and just over 1 cup of tomato juice in at the beginning of the recipe, let the soup simmer partially covered, and did not need to add more liquid to the soup. The chicken soup base was added to taste at the end as I was not sure how much salt the ham hocks would add. A pound of ham cut into bits was added at the end of cooking, as was the meat from the ham hocks. Topped with fresh chives, this soup was hearty and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
I received a honey-sliced ham for a Christmas gift, using the bone for this recipe. I also diced a cup or more of extra ham to add to the soup. This is a terrifically hearty soup, with a wonderfully complex flavor. I thought so many ingredients might be gratuitous, but the flavor was so good, I'd be afraid to leave anything out when I prepare it again. Yes, with so many ingredients, you will be in the kitchen for awhile. And the beans do take a long time to cook. Still, it's all worth it when your family keeps going back for seconds and thirds. As another reviewer mentioned, I found myself adding water as the soup continued to thicken. To retain the flavor, in adding so much water, I also added another teaspoon of chicken bouillon. Adding water did not hurt the flavor. My grocer did not have fresh chives, so I used dried. That's the only substitution I made. Don't think twice about making this one! Just do it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
This is a very good soup and a great way to use up the extra ham from Easter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2005
A good, hearty soup. The flavour was fantastic, even though i didn't have the sausage to put in. I used cooked ham left over from Christmas dinner instead of the ham bone, and that worked fine. Next time, for convience's sake, I may use canned beans, but the dried ones worked well too. I gave this to my brother ( a college student) to fatten him up, and he loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2005
I left out the sausage and the worchestershire sauce. Doubled the recipe and used 3 lbs. of boneless smoked ham hocks. Served about 30 people and the majority declared it the best bean soup they ever ate. My husband says it's a keeper and he always said my bean soup was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
Great spice combination, very flexible. I wanted to use up some left-over ham, and didn't have time to run to the store to get more ingrediants to really follow the recipe, so I really butchered it. Essentially, I used a reasonable amount of the dried versions of the spices with three cans of beans (pinto, black-eyed peas, and kidney) instead of dried navy & lima beans, used sparkling apple cider instead of beer, used extra ham instead of Italian sausage, and left out the Worchestshire sauce, chives, and celery because I didn't have any on hand. I also threw in a green pepper for some color. The spices came out perfect even without measuring, and the cayenne added a great kick - my spice-loving fiance was thrilled! Next time I'll try hard apple cider, and more of it (don't usually have beer on hand). Sticking with the canned beans, too - much faster, the whole meal cooked in about an hour including prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2005
I was really excited to make this recipe, but after 8 hours (!) of cooking, at least 1/3 of the beans were undercooked. Not sure what I did wrong, though, the instructions were unclear about whether the pot should have a lid. I opted to let it cook uncovered, and I found myself adding water regularly. Maybe the beans just didn't have enough water. Also, the recipe was pretty spicy, even with mild/sweet Italian sausage. Very salty, too. (It's if the recipe almost has TOO much flavor.) Fell somewhat flat at our family dinner table. Won't do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2005
This is a fabulous,full bodied, flavorful soup. We served it New Years day to our friends and it was well recieved. We didn't change a thing. We worried about the tomato paste, but it added rich color and flavor.My compliments to Marilyn G. for putting this on line. lal667
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2004
Everyone in my family enjoyed this soup. I would suggest making a lot and freezing it to eat later because the prep time takes a while. Worth every minute though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States