Lima and Navy Bean and Ham Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
I've been lurking Allrecipes for a while, but must come out of the closet to say how much I love this soup! I used dashes of tabasco instead of cayenne, and the kick I got over the complex flavours was fabulous! One suggestion: to control fat and salt, I blanched my meats (cold water to cover, bring to boil and simmer for 5 min) and did not need to skim off fat before serving (I used a hunk of cottage roll instead of ham as that is what I had available). The sausages were firmed up by blanching, and I cut them into round slices without taking the casing to brown. Sausage slices bobbbed up in the broth enticingly. It was like heavenly Cassoulet in a bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
I made this on a day where I had barely any grocery's in the house. Therefore only used Navy beans (canned), Onions, Ham, Tomato Sauce, Cayenne, Worcestershire. I had a Jiffy Cornbread mix in the pantry and made that in my iron skillet. the bread turned out flat and thin so I used it as a base and put the soup/sauce over it. It was sooo good and sooo easy! I'm definately writing this one down to remember.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
Perhaps I shouldn't review this since I didn't use all the ingredients, but I will since my husband's comment was, 'You really outdid yourself with this soup!' I had soaked large lima beans overnight and was looking for a recipe. To the beans I added 28 oz. Italian-style tomatoes, all the vegetables (except green onions), the dried herbs (including dried basil and chives), less than 1/2 t. cayenne, and a little chopped ham (no navy beans, sausage, beer, tomato paste, bouillon, or Worcestershire). Simmered about an hour. Really tasty, easy, and healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kareno

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marlette, Michigan, USA
Living In: South Bend, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
WONDERFUL SPICE AND HERB FLAVOUR!!!I WENT WITH WHAT I HAD ON HAND, AND IT STILL TURNED OUT GREAT! I BROWNED REGULAR SAUSAGE IN BEANO'S SUB DRESSING & GARLIC, USED CANNELLINI (DRIED) & BLACK BEANS (CANNED AND ADDED IN LAST HOUR OF COOKING), DRIED PEPPER FLAKES INSTEAD OF CAYENNE AND PROGRESSO HEARTY TOMATO SOUP (OUT OF CANNED TOMATOES, AGAIN!). INSTEAD OF CHICKEN BULLION OR BROTH, I USED FROZEN DUCK BROTH,,,NO FAT AND I DIDN'T NEED SALT! I REALLY ENJOYED PICKING ALL THE HERBS FRESH FROM MY HERB GARDENS! I USED THAI BASIL INSTEAD OF REGULAR AND TOSSED IN SOME OREGANO, TOO. BEFORE SERVING, I ADDED CHUNKS OF PEPPERJACK AND COLBY. GOOEY GOODNESS! INSTEAD, I GUESS I SHOULD CALL IT "SPICY SAUSAGE AND WHITE AND BLACK BEAN SOUP", BUT WHATEVER YOU CALL IT, IT'S STILL AWESOME!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeannieBelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elon, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
ADD LESS SALT, AND CHYENNE PEPPER
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
This soup is great. I love the hardiness of it. I made a batch up and froze it in order to take it to Moose Camp. Boy was it wonderful after a day of hunting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Pole, Alaska, USA
Living In: Chugiak, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2007
Put the beans covered in water,bring to boil, boil 10 minutes, leave covered and sit for an hour.Tenderizes your bean and cuts cooking time in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
My husband and I loved this recipe. I put this in the slower cooker in the morning and it was ready by dinner time that night. I added beef stock to mine approx 4 cups in addition to a cup of water. I also left out the sausage and used 4 ham hocks. I used tomatoe paste and 2 cans of stewed tomatoes, but I think this was a little much. Next time I think I'm going to use 1/2 that. I also don't like things spicey, so I left out anything with some kick, but you can pick and choose what fits your taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA
Living In: Pocatello, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2007
I don't understand all the praise. I thought that the recipe was needlessly complicated, and all the extra spices didn't add up to a superior soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
I love the taste as well as the eye appeal of this fantastic dish. Seeing it reminded me of a time long past but not forgotten. Taste is worth more stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sardis, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Navy Bean Soup I

See how to make a hearty bean soup with ham and spices.

The Best Bean and Ham Soup

Beans simmer slowly with a ham bone and plenty of seasonings.

Basic Ham and Bean Soup

See how to make a hearty bean soup with leftover ham.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States