Lil' Devils Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
This recipe is a family recipe and has been made since 1945
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I did not care for these at all. I have a HUGE sweet tooth and am fond of just about any chocolate-PB combination - EXCEPT for this one. :( The PB / marshmallow fluff mixture was really good on its own (I literally licked my bowl and spatula clean!), but when combined with the cake mix, it was purely sugar overkill. The bars had a gritty texture, most likely from the cake mix. The PB taste was also barely noticeable even tho I added 1/4 cup more than called for. My bars crumbled a bit (which was a nuisance), but the real deal breaker for me was how sweet these were. Maybe these will float your boat, but they didn't do anything for me. Thanks anyways, Susan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2010
Maybe mine came our PERFECT because I DOUBLED it; used 3/4 butter and used 1 C. PB. I have also used BROWNIE MIX - which is my husband's favorite since it's a little more gooier. I have also tried this with Vanilla mix & lemon pie filling (3/4 can). I have also tried this with Vanilla mix and raspberry pie filling (3/4 can) UMMMM YUMMY ! TAKE OUT BEFORE YOU THINK IT'S COOKED ALL THE WAY... that's why it's dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
I must say, these are quite tasty little treats for such a simple, 4 ingredient recipe....I was pleasantly surprised! After reading all the reviews, I decided to make these into cupcakes to avoid the hassle of trying to spread the filling onto the base in a large cake pan. It worked out very well! Put a tablespoon of the cake mixture down, then a spoonful of filling, more cake mix on top & pressed down lightly. I baked these for about 14-15 minutes & they were perfect! The kids gobbled them up....my 11 year old son said they were "AMAZING"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHELTON463

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2009
I thought this was amazing! The peanut butter and marshmallow creme together was good enough to eat on it's own. Poking the mixture into the corners with your fingers works fine because it's too stiff to do so with a spoon and stiff enough to not leave your fingers all sticky and gooey. The trick to cutting is cool it completely and wait for the marshmallow to stiffen again beforehand and it works great. It is a bit crumbly; you might want to use less cake mix on top or press it down more. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scarrgirl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2008
Simple to make is about all this recipe has going for it. The result was crumbly and dry and the flavor of chocolate and peanut butter are hidden by overwhelming sweetness. I was disappointed and won't be bringing it to the picnic I'd hoped to share it at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
They tasted good but were not pretty to look at. They fell apart and I was embarased to take them to my family. I will not make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rachel Scoggins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bowman, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Pretty darn good. Easy to make, i added a little extra peanut butter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warren, Michigan, USA
Living In: Macomb, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2007
Very rich. I made extra peanut butter/marshmallow mixture as others suggested. Good but rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2007
Very rich, everyone loved them at my party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fudgy Peanut Butter Buttons

See how to turn cocoa mix into fudgy, no-bake peanut butter cookies.

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

No Bakes

See how to make a simple chocolate, peanut butter, and oatmeal cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States