Lightning Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This recipe was just what I was looking for...quick and good. I did add more chicken bouillon (3 Tbsp), cornstarch (3 Tbsp) and water (about 2 Tbps) and I added pepper and onion powder. I also kept in the microwave for about 3 minutes while stirring about every minute. Turned out very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Do spice this up with your favorite spices, You can use chicken or beef boullion cubes, depending on what you are cooking in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This was easier than I thought! I used 3 cubes and it came out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2002
This was good. I added some veg. broth with the water. This has a good gravy flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKOONUS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Great with some adjustment!!! We used 2 cups of meat and meat juice drippings instead of water and also added bouillon. Wanted it a little thicker will use a little flour also next time. Great for a very fast gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
My guests were raving about the sauce, but I ended up using the stovetop b/c it was taking too long in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
I used chicken stock/broth instead of water & "Better than Boullion" (scoops out from a jar). I used 3-4 cubes worth of boullion. This was SO delicious! I've made it twice this week. My little picky eaters nearly licked the plate!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I've made this several times--my youngest son likes gravy on his mashed potatoes and this is a super easy way to make him happy even when I'm not cooking something that lends itself to making 'real' gravy. I normally use beef boullion and the gravy color is fine! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPRINGMEOW

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grain Valley, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Quick easy recipe. I added some herbs and spices to it to give it a little more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
This is a great base but definitely needs some doctoring! I stuck with the 2 bouillon cubes and used Wondra for thickening. I added fresh ground pepper, garlic salt, parsley, Cajun seasoning and then whisked in some lite sour cream. It still wasn't quite right, so I added a couple drops of liquid smoke. Perfect taste just like it came from roasted chicken drippings!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Making Gravy

Discover the secret to silky smooth, lump-free gravy.

How to Make Homemade Chicken Gravy

See how to make creamy chicken gravy from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States