Lightning Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I used twice the bouillon for stronger chicken flavor, then I decided to see how 'homemade' I could make it taste by adding basil, fresh ground pepper, celery salt, garlic powder, and 2 pats of butter. I think I could slide this past my own grandmother! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I sauteed about 6 sliced mushrooms in some butter & added a little white wine to reduce. Then I used beef bouillon instead of chicken and put mushroom/wine/butter mix into the gravy. Finished it off with a dash of worchestershire and some black pepper. I won't eat a good steak without it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I always add an extra cube. This is how my mother and grandmother taught me to make it, only they would add a shot of ketsup, for color reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Nice gravy. I read many of the reviews and did make some changes because of those reviews. I used chicken stock instead of water with 6 tsp of the granulated chicken bouillon. I thought it was a little salty (should have used the unsalted chicken broth) but the people at the party liked it a lot. I also add a generous dose of black pepper and a dash of sage. flavor was nice but I think next time I'll use the unsalted chicken broth and try flour instead of corn starch. Maybe it would look more like chicken gravy then. Would I make this gravy again?? You betcha! It only took as long to make as boiling water!! I don't think it took more than maybe 10-12 minutes to make 4 cup of great tasting gravy. Oh, I did this on the stove top as it was easier than fiddling with the microwave and worrying about a boil over to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong, I don't know. The gravy was the color of bile, it would not thicken and there was absolutely no taste to the gravy. IF I were to ever use it again I'd use more buillon, or use Campbells chicken broth. Sometimes the fastest way isn't always the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I just made this because I was looking for a fat free low calorie gravy to make really fast. I used 3 teaspoons of bouillon for extra flavor. What I got was properly thickened and flavorful, but unappetizingly pale looking. Then it hit me - this was the sauce from the high school cafeteria chicken chow mein that I loved as a kid (so much for early development of taste buds). Anyway, this is a good fat free, quick emergency gravy. Next time I may try flour instead of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeff Samet

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This was easier than I thought! I used 3 cubes and it came out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Good for a fast gravy, however it wasn't thick enough for me with two tbs of cornstarch. I recommend three or even 3 1/2 tbs of cornstarch, if you like a thick gravy. Other than that, great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Do spice this up with your favorite spices, You can use chicken or beef boullion cubes, depending on what you are cooking in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
My guests were raving about the sauce, but I ended up using the stovetop b/c it was taking too long in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Bill's Sausage Gravy

See how to make a delicious sausage gravy.

Slow Cooker Chicken Cacciatore

Favorite Italian chicken dish prepared in a slow cooker.

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States