Lightning Gravy Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2002
I used twice the bouillon for stronger chicken flavor, then I decided to see how 'homemade' I could make it taste by adding basil, fresh ground pepper, celery salt, garlic powder, and 2 pats of butter. I think I could slide this past my own grandmother! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Princeton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2003
I sauteed about 6 sliced mushrooms in some butter & added a little white wine to reduce. Then I used beef bouillon instead of chicken and put mushroom/wine/butter mix into the gravy. Finished it off with a dash of worchestershire and some black pepper. I won't eat a good steak without it again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Joplin, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I always add an extra cube. This is how my mother and grandmother taught me to make it, only they would add a shot of ketsup, for color reasons.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATTEG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cranford, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Nice gravy. I read many of the reviews and did make some changes because of those reviews. I used chicken stock instead of water with 6 tsp of the granulated chicken bouillon. I thought it was a little salty (should have used the unsalted chicken broth) but the people at the party liked it a lot. I also add a generous dose of black pepper and a dash of sage. flavor was nice but I think next time I'll use the unsalted chicken broth and try flour instead of corn starch. Maybe it would look more like chicken gravy then. Would I make this gravy again?? You betcha! It only took as long to make as boiling water!! I don't think it took more than maybe 10-12 minutes to make 4 cup of great tasting gravy. Oh, I did this on the stove top as it was easier than fiddling with the microwave and worrying about a boil over to clean up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
Maybe I did something wrong, I don't know. The gravy was the color of bile, it would not thicken and there was absolutely no taste to the gravy. IF I were to ever use it again I'd use more buillon, or use Campbells chicken broth. Sometimes the fastest way isn't always the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2005
I just made this because I was looking for a fat free low calorie gravy to make really fast. I used 3 teaspoons of bouillon for extra flavor. What I got was properly thickened and flavorful, but unappetizingly pale looking. Then it hit me - this was the sauce from the high school cafeteria chicken chow mein that I loved as a kid (so much for early development of taste buds). Anyway, this is a good fat free, quick emergency gravy. Next time I may try flour instead of cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2001
This was easier than I thought! I used 3 cubes and it came out great! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2003
Good for a fast gravy, however it wasn't thick enough for me with two tbs of cornstarch. I recommend three or even 3 1/2 tbs of cornstarch, if you like a thick gravy. Other than that, great recipe. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Do spice this up with your favorite spices, You can use chicken or beef boullion cubes, depending on what you are cooking in the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JESSICA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
My guests were raving about the sauce, but I ended up using the stovetop b/c it was taking too long in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WANSHAN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Riverside, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat and Honey Pizza Dough

See how to make healthy homemade whole wheat pizza dough.

Making Gravy

Discover the secret to silky smooth, lump-free gravy.

Mom's Country Gravy

Discover the secrets to smooth, creamy country gravy with no lumps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States