Lighter Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Warning: This lasagna recipe needs some essential modifications. 1st, it is very liquidy and I even ommited the water (because I suspected this problem). I also baked it uncovered to try to compensate for the liquidiness, but it was still too watery in my opinion. 2nd, there is no salt and pepper in this recipe, but it definitely needs it. I sprikled salt and pepper over the spinach layer and over the top sauce layer and this was sufficient. 3rd, I didn't add the final layer of mozzarella cheese until the final 10 min of baking. This worked well. (I added some parmasan to the top layer as well which definately enhanced the flavor.) I didn't use carrots simply for personal taste, but after the modifications the flavor was very good. Just too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This turned out well. The carrots make it kinda sweet and I used a jar of pasta sause that already had basil in it on top of the basil the recipe called for so I will adjust that next time. But it was still super good. I used whole wheat noodles, no vegetable juice, and more cheese. I will make this again. With just two of us, it's nice to have left-overs too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was my first attempt at lasagna and it turned out great! I used the regular noodles (no veggie juice), made sure to drain the spinach and it turned out perfect. I do admit I used twice the amount of mozzerella and added parmesan so don't know if that still qualifies as 'light' but my husband is a cheese guy. Will make again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This lasagna was very easy to prepare. Use a deep 9x13 dish, as my 9x13 cake pan overflowed a little. I thought it was a little bland and needed twice the seasonings. My husband had it the first time the day after I made it. He raved, so apparently it's one of those dishes that's even better the next day. I used all the ingredients listed, but found italian spiced ground turkey and used spicy vegetable juice. I also had run out of basil & substituted it with cumin, which I guess turned out to be pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I discovered half way in that I was missing cottage cheese, so I omitted that, the egg and the frozen spinach. I also used regular noodles and omitted the water and the tomato-vegetable juice. It was more of a casserole than lasagna, but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I haven't made this yet but since several say it is watery-it only could be from NOT draning the spinach. I am betting that you must squeeze the spinach with a paper towel. I would like to see feedback from others on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very tasty my family loved it. Even my youngest daughter( who HATES spinach ) liked it. We had it with salad and garlic bread so it turned into a perfect rounded meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is exactly what I was looking for in terms of a healthy lasagna. After reading the reviews I used 2 eggs instead of 1, omitted the water and it turned out perfect. I also added more spices. Since I didn't have carrots and had frozen mixed veggies, it was an easy and great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
It was tasty except could use some more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
watery beyond belief! yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States