Lighter Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2009
Warning: This lasagna recipe needs some essential modifications. 1st, it is very liquidy and I even ommited the water (because I suspected this problem). I also baked it uncovered to try to compensate for the liquidiness, but it was still too watery in my opinion. 2nd, there is no salt and pepper in this recipe, but it definitely needs it. I sprikled salt and pepper over the spinach layer and over the top sauce layer and this was sufficient. 3rd, I didn't add the final layer of mozzarella cheese until the final 10 min of baking. This worked well. (I added some parmasan to the top layer as well which definately enhanced the flavor.) I didn't use carrots simply for personal taste, but after the modifications the flavor was very good. Just too much liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Natalie Ercolini

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redwood City, California, USA
Living In: San Carlos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
tastes even better than the "fatter" lasagna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
Very tasty my family loved it. Even my youngest daughter( who HATES spinach ) liked it. We had it with salad and garlic bread so it turned into a perfect rounded meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2009
watery beyond belief! yikes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SFAITHJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
It was tasty except could use some more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2009
I haven't made this yet but since several say it is watery-it only could be from NOT draning the spinach. I am betting that you must squeeze the spinach with a paper towel. I would like to see feedback from others on this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
This was my first attempt at lasagna and it turned out great! I used the regular noodles (no veggie juice), made sure to drain the spinach and it turned out perfect. I do admit I used twice the amount of mozzerella and added parmesan so don't know if that still qualifies as 'light' but my husband is a cheese guy. Will make again, Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
I discovered half way in that I was missing cottage cheese, so I omitted that, the egg and the frozen spinach. I also used regular noodles and omitted the water and the tomato-vegetable juice. It was more of a casserole than lasagna, but it wasn't bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Green Bay, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
I made this without the mushrooms and enjoyed it. I did not care for the texture of the noodles which were mushy. I think I'd rather use pre-cooked noodles despite the added work and prep time. The sauce was good, and I will try this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ohsherry

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
I loved this recipe! Totally delicious with a few changes of my own. I used Healthy Request whole wheat lasagna pasta and didn't use mushrooms or carrots since there were veggies in the sauce I used. I made sure I drained the spinach and cottage cheese before using so it wasn't too watery. Baked at 350 for an hour. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Eggplant Lasagna

Layers of breaded roasted eggplant with ground beef, tomato sauce, and cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States