Lighter Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! Like everyone else says you should not add that 1 cup of water. I did just to try it out and there was a bit too much liquid. Also, I used 2 cups of cheese instead of 1. It was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marybcurlyq

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I took advice from other reviewers and omitted the water. Good decision. I used Classico spicy tomato and basil spaghetti sauce and also added crushed red pepper to the sauce as my boyfriend and I like a little kick to our meals. Also because I grew an herb garden this summer, I used fresh rosemary, basil, and oregano. The ratio of dried to fresh should be 1:3, but I just eyeballed it. Oh and I used 2 c of cheese and not 1. The boyfriend was happy and so was I! Good healthier choice for lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
This is exactly what I was looking for in terms of a healthy lasagna. After reading the reviews I used 2 eggs instead of 1, omitted the water and it turned out perfect. I also added more spices. Since I didn't have carrots and had frozen mixed veggies, it was an easy and great substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
This lasagna was very easy to prepare. Use a deep 9x13 dish, as my 9x13 cake pan overflowed a little. I thought it was a little bland and needed twice the seasonings. My husband had it the first time the day after I made it. He raved, so apparently it's one of those dishes that's even better the next day. I used all the ingredients listed, but found italian spiced ground turkey and used spicy vegetable juice. I also had run out of basil & substituted it with cumin, which I guess turned out to be pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
This turned out well. The carrots make it kinda sweet and I used a jar of pasta sause that already had basil in it on top of the basil the recipe called for so I will adjust that next time. But it was still super good. I used whole wheat noodles, no vegetable juice, and more cheese. I will make this again. With just two of us, it's nice to have left-overs too!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
Very fresh tasting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nmschalk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bloomfield, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2010
I made a few changes and followed some of the tips in other reviews and it turned out great! Here are a few of the changes I made: I didn't have onion on hand so I had to substitute with onion powder. Added pepper and salt. I didn't add any water, and instead of vegetable juice I chopped up 2 cups of cherry tomatoes. I also used mozarella and parmesan. This is a wonderful healthy version of lasagna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
My family really liked this lasagna. It has a lighter more dynamic taste to it than our usual meat and cheese sauce and italian seasoned lasagna. I liked all the vegetables and V8 juice the kids were getting in them- even though my son scraped off his spinach layer. I omitted the water and didn't drain the spinach. At supper it was fine. Re-heating, I had a lot of water on the plate. But the taste and nutrition is great, so I wouldn't take away any stars for that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rochester, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2010
Made this today and loved it, wasn't watery at all like other reviews said. Substituted chopped brussel sprouts for the spinach and used Mrs T's Bloody Mary mix for the tomato juice. For some reason after it was in the fridge and reheated, it tasted even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2010
This recipe was very good! My husband and kids loved it and the extra veggies were great...they didn't even know they were there to pick out. I boiled the noodles so didn't need the tomato juice. It came out perfect. I will use this recipe often from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledonia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Chicken Lasagna

Chicken and cream cheese star in this deliciously unique lasagna.

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States