Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was very good and had a great, creamy texture. I sauteed 2 cloves crushed fresh garlic instead of powder & topped with chopped fresh cilantro. Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was great! I wasn't really sure about the instructions, so i put the milk, cream cheese, and butter in a pan, heated it enough to melt the butter, then whisked it all together. Then I added the powders and parmesan and heated it until it was all melted and creamy. I served it over angel hair pasta with peas and bacon pieces. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Wow ! I tried this one for the first time tonight at a church potluck supper and all thought it was very tasty.I had no problems except I think I added too much extra parmesan then had to add some more of the skim milk as it was getting a little too thick.It was creamy and cheesy and I am amazed at how good it tasted without all the extra fat and calories of a recipe with heavy cream and butter.I will definitely make it again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktwngrl61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is my new favourite alfredo recipe! My grocery store didn't have any neufchatel, so I used a local organic soft goat cheese and it worked perfectly. I also added a bunch of chopped fresh spinach to the pasta and served it with Garlic Chicken (from this site). Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
WOW! This is amazingly good! My family devoured it! The only thing is that it wasn't saucy enough. That may be because I cooked it too long? I can probably add milk to the leftovers and cream it back up. We are DEFINITELY calling this recipe a "keeper"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
My husband and I love this recipe and I recommend it to my family and friends. It's simple and oh so tasty. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I added frozen spinach and chopped carrots to the sauce, my kids were leary of the colors, but once they tasted it - ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Wonderful! Creamy, good consistency, & perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is wonderful! A great way to cut fat and calories. I added about a half a cup more parmesan cheese. I will use this often! Thanks great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was amazing. I scaled the recipe for 12 servings but only used 16 oz fettuccine b/c I added 16 oz frozen (thawed) broccoli cuts, 2 cups frozen peas, and 1 pound cooked shrimp. I increased the garlic to 2 tsp. and added 3/4 tsp. black pepper. The directions were a little unclear so here's what I did. Cut up the margarine and Neufchatel cheese and place in large saucepan with skim milk and minced garlic on medium heat stirring occasionally until butter melted, then stirred more often until the Neufchatel was a smooth creamy consistency. Next I added the onion salt, garlic powder, black pepper, and Parmesan cheese and whisked until smooth and melted turning the heat down to low. Once the sauce was finished I added the cooked shrimp and let heat through (about 2 minutes). Removed from heat and added cooked fettuccine with vegetables (which I cooked together by adding the broccoli for the last 4 minutes and the peas for the last 2 minutes to the pasta water). I'm glad I doubled the sauce recipe b/c it thickened up even more after it sat (on the warming zone on my stove) for a little why. Served with Parmesan Herb Bread (from the site). Will DEFINITELY be making this again; even though the shrimp was GREAT I might try chicken next time. Thanks for posting this low fat tasty alternative to this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States