Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Neufchatel cheese is not the same thing as cream cheese, as a previous reviewer stated. It is similar but is lower in fat so if you are looking to cut calories, use the cheese in the recipe, not cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was great! I wasn't really sure about the instructions, so i put the milk, cream cheese, and butter in a pan, heated it enough to melt the butter, then whisked it all together. Then I added the powders and parmesan and heated it until it was all melted and creamy. I served it over angel hair pasta with peas and bacon pieces. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
pretty good. i like the idea of using neufchatel as opposed to heavy cream. by the way, everyone, neufchatel cheese is just another name for cream cheese. like philedelphia cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was amazing. I scaled the recipe for 12 servings but only used 16 oz fettuccine b/c I added 16 oz frozen (thawed) broccoli cuts, 2 cups frozen peas, and 1 pound cooked shrimp. I increased the garlic to 2 tsp. and added 3/4 tsp. black pepper. The directions were a little unclear so here's what I did. Cut up the margarine and Neufchatel cheese and place in large saucepan with skim milk and minced garlic on medium heat stirring occasionally until butter melted, then stirred more often until the Neufchatel was a smooth creamy consistency. Next I added the onion salt, garlic powder, black pepper, and Parmesan cheese and whisked until smooth and melted turning the heat down to low. Once the sauce was finished I added the cooked shrimp and let heat through (about 2 minutes). Removed from heat and added cooked fettuccine with vegetables (which I cooked together by adding the broccoli for the last 4 minutes and the peas for the last 2 minutes to the pasta water). I'm glad I doubled the sauce recipe b/c it thickened up even more after it sat (on the warming zone on my stove) for a little why. Served with Parmesan Herb Bread (from the site). Will DEFINITELY be making this again; even though the shrimp was GREAT I might try chicken next time. Thanks for posting this low fat tasty alternative to this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2009
This was fabulous! I used regular cream cheese instead (didn't have the low-fat) and cut the butter to 1/4 cup and it turned out wonderful!! It'll be a keeper for sure and I can now enjoy alfredo without having to go grocery shopping for whipping cream! BTW - the sauce came together in less time than it took to cut the cream cheese into cubes! LOL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smyrna, Georgia, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is my new favourite alfredo recipe! My grocery store didn't have any neufchatel, so I used a local organic soft goat cheese and it worked perfectly. I also added a bunch of chopped fresh spinach to the pasta and served it with Garlic Chicken (from this site). Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Wow ! I tried this one for the first time tonight at a church potluck supper and all thought it was very tasty.I had no problems except I think I added too much extra parmesan then had to add some more of the skim milk as it was getting a little too thick.It was creamy and cheesy and I am amazed at how good it tasted without all the extra fat and calories of a recipe with heavy cream and butter.I will definitely make it again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktwngrl61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
I think I did something wrong, the sauce was not very creamy but tasted okay. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is very good, very easy and very filling! I melted the margarine and simmered the garlic in it for about 30 seconds. Then I added the milk, neufchatel cheese, garlic powder and 1/8 tsp. onion powder (not onion salt). I added some imitation crab meat and cooked until it was heated through, then added the parmesan cheese. I know it's less fattening than regular alfredo, but it's still very rich and flavorful. I did have some problems with the sauce separating, so next time I might reduce the margarine to just 1/4 cup. The thing I'm most amazed at is how quick it is to pull together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made this recipe for my daughter and her friends for dinner and they inhaled it! I had to use 2% milk and added leftover grilled chicken breasts. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States