Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2001
I think I did something wrong, the sauce was not very creamy but tasted okay. I will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2004
My husband and I love this recipe and I recommend it to my family and friends. It's simple and oh so tasty. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2005
pretty good. i like the idea of using neufchatel as opposed to heavy cream. by the way, everyone, neufchatel cheese is just another name for cream cheese. like philedelphia cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2005
I added frozen spinach and chopped carrots to the sauce, my kids were leary of the colors, but once they tasted it - ate it right up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Wonderful! Creamy, good consistency, & perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
This was quite good; my whole family enjoyed it. I did have to add a bit of cornstarch, stirred into skim milk, to thicken it. I also added some pre-cooked shrimp I had on hand and made it shrimp fettuccini alfredo! Served with a green salad, it was a really tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainview, New York, USA
Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2007
Neufchatel cheese is not the same thing as cream cheese, as a previous reviewer stated. It is similar but is lower in fat so if you are looking to cut calories, use the cheese in the recipe, not cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2007
This is my new favourite alfredo recipe! My grocery store didn't have any neufchatel, so I used a local organic soft goat cheese and it worked perfectly. I also added a bunch of chopped fresh spinach to the pasta and served it with Garlic Chicken (from this site). Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food4me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2007
I made some changes to this. I started with a few tablespoons of Smart Balance butter and sauteed two cloves of garlic and half a small onion. Then I added three handfuls of crimini mushrooms and continued to sautem adding sea salt and ground pepper to taste. I then included the neufchatel cheese, let it start to melt, added a cup of milk and then the cup of parm cheese. I had leftover salmon that I tore into small pieces and added it. The mixture was gloppy at this point, so I added another half cup of non-fat milk and it was heaven. Very versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clearview

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This was great! I wasn't really sure about the instructions, so i put the milk, cream cheese, and butter in a pan, heated it enough to melt the butter, then whisked it all together. Then I added the powders and parmesan and heated it until it was all melted and creamy. I served it over angel hair pasta with peas and bacon pieces. It was great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mal

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States