Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This was quite good. The only thing I have to say negative is that it was a little on the thick side, but was very easily remedied! VERY good sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SQUASHBLOSSOMGIRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Wonderful recipe - I made as written - didn't have fresh garlic so used powdered. Substituted sausage for chicken. Fantastic alfredo without all of the fat and calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manchester, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
Wow way too much margerine. I doubled the recipe but left the margerine the same and still ended up having to skim about 1/2 cup of melted oil off the surface before the sauce would come together. On the plus side, once I did this the flavor was great! I poured the sauce over cheese ravioli and baked it until bubbly. I would make this recipe again with a lot less margerine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
This version was very easy and quite tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2008
WOW! This is amazingly good! My family devoured it! The only thing is that it wasn't saucy enough. That may be because I cooked it too long? I can probably add milk to the leftovers and cream it back up. We are DEFINITELY calling this recipe a "keeper"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2008
I made this recipe for my daughter and her friends for dinner and they inhaled it! I had to use 2% milk and added leftover grilled chicken breasts. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
This was amazing. I scaled the recipe for 12 servings but only used 16 oz fettuccine b/c I added 16 oz frozen (thawed) broccoli cuts, 2 cups frozen peas, and 1 pound cooked shrimp. I increased the garlic to 2 tsp. and added 3/4 tsp. black pepper. The directions were a little unclear so here's what I did. Cut up the margarine and Neufchatel cheese and place in large saucepan with skim milk and minced garlic on medium heat stirring occasionally until butter melted, then stirred more often until the Neufchatel was a smooth creamy consistency. Next I added the onion salt, garlic powder, black pepper, and Parmesan cheese and whisked until smooth and melted turning the heat down to low. Once the sauce was finished I added the cooked shrimp and let heat through (about 2 minutes). Removed from heat and added cooked fettuccine with vegetables (which I cooked together by adding the broccoli for the last 4 minutes and the peas for the last 2 minutes to the pasta water). I'm glad I doubled the sauce recipe b/c it thickened up even more after it sat (on the warming zone on my stove) for a little why. Served with Parmesan Herb Bread (from the site). Will DEFINITELY be making this again; even though the shrimp was GREAT I might try chicken next time. Thanks for posting this low fat tasty alternative to this great dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Alabaster, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
This was very good and had a great, creamy texture. I sauteed 2 cloves crushed fresh garlic instead of powder & topped with chopped fresh cilantro. Easy & delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oviedo, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2008
Wow ! I tried this one for the first time tonight at a church potluck supper and all thought it was very tasty.I had no problems except I think I added too much extra parmesan then had to add some more of the skim milk as it was getting a little too thick.It was creamy and cheesy and I am amazed at how good it tasted without all the extra fat and calories of a recipe with heavy cream and butter.I will definitely make it again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ktwngrl61

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
This is wonderful! A great way to cut fat and calories. I added about a half a cup more parmesan cheese. I will use this often! Thanks great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States