Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
Used regular cream cheese and penne pasta that I had on hand, and then followed the recipe as written. Tasted great. My 2 picky girls devoured it! Will definitely make often. Thanks for the recipe. Quick, easy and delicious. Just the kind of recipes I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
My girls loved this and it was not bad for a lighter fat version. Mixed with seasoned brocolli. I only used 1/4 of butter, but I did add in some extra fat free half and half to compensate for the added brocolli. I didn't want it too dry. I skipped the garlic/onion addition because the kids won't eat this way, and it was fine. I will definitley make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RAISIN1

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
This is very good, very easy and very filling! I melted the margarine and simmered the garlic in it for about 30 seconds. Then I added the milk, neufchatel cheese, garlic powder and 1/8 tsp. onion powder (not onion salt). I added some imitation crab meat and cooked until it was heated through, then added the parmesan cheese. I know it's less fattening than regular alfredo, but it's still very rich and flavorful. I did have some problems with the sauce separating, so next time I might reduce the margarine to just 1/4 cup. The thing I'm most amazed at is how quick it is to pull together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Good but rich. Takes longer than you think for the neu. cheese to melt
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
added grilled chicken breast and chopped up broccoli. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by abbeyroad
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
My husband loves Fettuccini and turned up his nose when I said I was going to try a lighter version. After I made this, he asked me not to try the lighter version because this was his favorite! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
Delicious! We absolutely loved it! Will definitely make it again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mdantzler65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Fountain, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2010
I followed this recipe closely as I could using what I had on hand, only increasing the garlic to 4 minced cloves and I omitted the garlic powder. I used 1/4 cup (four tablespoons) of butter instead of margerine (I almost NEVER have margerine on hand) and browned the garlic in the butter before adding the milk and low-fat cream cheese. I used 8 oz. whole wheat elbow macaroni instead of fettuccine pasta because that's what I had on hand. My family ate it and didn't give me a yes or no on wether they liked it, they were indifferent. My littlest scarfed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Did a "spin off" of this recipes. Changes were: real butter and added some crawfish tails cooked w/green onion. VERY, VERY GOOD. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grafton, Ohio, USA
Living In: League City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2010
Best light Alfredo I have had so far has a nice thick and creamy texture.I plan on making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Stephanie*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Stuyvesant, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States