Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Quick and easy, yes. Alfredo, no. The sauce (and there's a lot of it) is overwhelmed by the cream-cheese-flavor of the Neufchatel. After a few bites, I felt like I was just eating a bar of cream cheese. Soon after, I returned to the kitchen and washed all the sauce off and down the drain so as not to waste a whole box of pasta. In the future, when looking to cut fat and calories, I will search out a different recipe... perhaps one that uses evaporated skim milk in place of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Made this tonight and it was excellent! My original recipe will always be my favorite..but it also has 40+g of fat more than this one. I didn't even feel like I was eating a lighter fettucini :) I only used 1/4 C. of butter and used whole wheat pasta. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mrs.blanke

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Sheboygan, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
I made this for supper tonight and my husband and I both agree that it has a good start for a great recipe but that the ingredient ratios need tweaking. The sauce was very thick and pasty. The Neufchatel cheese was overpowering. I think it could easily be reduced by half. I also added more seasoning, most notably white pepper and additional salt. The recipe also makes a very generous amount of sauce for the 12oz. of pasta called for. It was certainly very easy and if you like to experiment it might be worth your time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
this was great and easy to make. used 16 oz pasta and there was plenty of sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I used 1% milk but did everything else exactly to recipe. It was fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
I used 2% milk, reg cream cheese, 1 stick of butter, no onion powder and no minced garlic, extra garlic powder and followed the rest of the recipe. I saved a cup of pasta water to thin the sauce. I only used maybe 3 TBL spoons of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
We loved this! I used 1/3 less fat Philadelphia and about 1/4 cup of light butter. I also prepared the whole 16 oz box of pasta. We thought there was plenty of sauce. Also added chicken to make it a complete meal. This is best if eaten right after being prepared since it does get a little pasty after sitting for a while. We are going to try it with shrimp next time. Thanks for the recipe, my family loved it! And I felt good about less calories :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MImom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Living In: Linden, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
Delicious! This is so easy to make. I added 1 can of diced tomatoes this time and it was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwood, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2011
This was REALLLLLYYYY good!! A fast meal to make and you with ingredients you have on hand. Thank you!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alana

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2011
This recipe is very quick to prepare with items that you usually have on hand. I decreased the butter to 4 T. and felt it needed a little black pepper, oregano and parsley to give it a little flair. It was best eaten right away when it was fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States