Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
Fantastic. I love the Neufchatel cheese instead of cream. It's still luscious and creamy. I really didn't do much to tweak it, other than I added fresh nutmeg because I add that to practically everything! I'll never go back to the full fat version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary Ann Kearney-Danboise

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used fat free half and half, I can't believe it's not butter and ricotta instead of Neufatcel, but the result was amazing. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Good recipe. Lighter and tastes better than some I've had at restaurants. The only thing I added was 1/2 tsp. of Tuscan Garlic Spice from Souther Living which was GREAT!! I also added cubed ham and served it over tortellini. Delicious. You can just add milk to make it thinner if needed. AND you have to use high heat and a whisk to get the neufchatel cheese to melt. It will melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I scaled this down to a serving for 3 for my husband and I, used a little less Smart balance and had to sub evap. 2 pct. milk cuz that's all I had (these changes were just due to necessity). He doesn't like much of anything but told me I should make it again this week...YOWZA! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This recipe is really good! Only things different I did was used only 1/4 cup of margarine so it wouldn't seperate a lot (as I've learned from trying other similar recipes) and added pepper, shrimp, and brocolli. I did fine the sauce extremely thick so I did end up having to add more milk to thin it out. But overall I loved the flavor and it was really easy and fast to make! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVED it!! I was in the mood for Alfredo and didn't have any heavy cream. This recipe was delicious and you never would have known that there was no heavy cream. I also used cream cheese because I didn't have the Neufchatel and I added shrimp. Hubby loved it also. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
No one would EVER guess that this was a lighter alfredo recipe. It came out VERY heavy, I think part of the issue was that the recipe yields about 1/3 more sauce than you need for 12 oz of pasta (something I didn't realize until after I poured the sauce over the fettuccine). The sauce itself was very tasty, but it was too much of something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was tastey, to be sure. Pretty rich, but that's kind of what you expect from alfredo. I added basil. Yum! And I skipped the garlic powder and just used more minced garlic. Next time, I'll add a bit more milk. It's a pretty thick sauce and I think I'd prefer it a little thinner. It's a keeper, though. Oh, and yes, neufchatel cheese, though strikingly similar to cream cheese, is NOT cream cheese. Less fat. Found in refrigerated section with the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Really very good, especially for a lighter version. All three kids liked it, and nothing was left in the pot by the end of supper! Love the easiness of it, too! I didn't add the fresh garlic, and IMO the parmesan cheese needed to be decreased slightly - I thought it was a little too strong. I added a bit of extra milk to cut down the flavor. Again, though, very creamy, less guilt-inducing version of the original....I will definitely be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 80) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States