Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
yumm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mary ann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oneida, New York, USA
Living In: Massena, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I used fat free half and half, I can't believe it's not butter and ricotta instead of Neufatcel, but the result was amazing. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
Good recipe. Lighter and tastes better than some I've had at restaurants. The only thing I added was 1/2 tsp. of Tuscan Garlic Spice from Souther Living which was GREAT!! I also added cubed ham and served it over tortellini. Delicious. You can just add milk to make it thinner if needed. AND you have to use high heat and a whisk to get the neufchatel cheese to melt. It will melt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2011
I scaled this down to a serving for 3 for my husband and I, used a little less Smart balance and had to sub evap. 2 pct. milk cuz that's all I had (these changes were just due to necessity). He doesn't like much of anything but told me I should make it again this week...YOWZA! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Orange, New Jersey, USA
Living In: North Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
This recipe is really good! Only things different I did was used only 1/4 cup of margarine so it wouldn't seperate a lot (as I've learned from trying other similar recipes) and added pepper, shrimp, and brocolli. I did fine the sauce extremely thick so I did end up having to add more milk to thin it out. But overall I loved the flavor and it was really easy and fast to make! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2011
LOVED it!! I was in the mood for Alfredo and didn't have any heavy cream. This recipe was delicious and you never would have known that there was no heavy cream. I also used cream cheese because I didn't have the Neufchatel and I added shrimp. Hubby loved it also. This recipe is a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
No one would EVER guess that this was a lighter alfredo recipe. It came out VERY heavy, I think part of the issue was that the recipe yields about 1/3 more sauce than you need for 12 oz of pasta (something I didn't realize until after I poured the sauce over the fettuccine). The sauce itself was very tasty, but it was too much of something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
This was tastey, to be sure. Pretty rich, but that's kind of what you expect from alfredo. I added basil. Yum! And I skipped the garlic powder and just used more minced garlic. Next time, I'll add a bit more milk. It's a pretty thick sauce and I think I'd prefer it a little thinner. It's a keeper, though. Oh, and yes, neufchatel cheese, though strikingly similar to cream cheese, is NOT cream cheese. Less fat. Found in refrigerated section with the cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marlakay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kankakee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Portland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
Really very good, especially for a lighter version. All three kids liked it, and nothing was left in the pot by the end of supper! Love the easiness of it, too! I didn't add the fresh garlic, and IMO the parmesan cheese needed to be decreased slightly - I thought it was a little too strong. I added a bit of extra milk to cut down the flavor. Again, though, very creamy, less guilt-inducing version of the original....I will definitely be making again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Quick and easy, yes. Alfredo, no. The sauce (and there's a lot of it) is overwhelmed by the cream-cheese-flavor of the Neufchatel. After a few bites, I felt like I was just eating a bar of cream cheese. Soon after, I returned to the kitchen and washed all the sauce off and down the drain so as not to waste a whole box of pasta. In the future, when looking to cut fat and calories, I will search out a different recipe... perhaps one that uses evaporated skim milk in place of heavy cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 79) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Chicken Fettuccini Alfredo

See how to make a rich and creamy chicken Alfredo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States