Lighter Fettuccini Alfredo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2015
For all the people in America...there is no such thing as Alfredo in Italy. I am married to an Italian and we live in Rome and he has lived in his country his entire life. There is nothing called Alfredo over there that he recalls. It may be another way for Americans to make up a recipe and give it some sort of Italian name to sell it in restaurants. Such as saying Tuscan spices...no such thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2015
This recipe was great! I used spaghetti noodles and cream cheese because that is what I had at home added a little garlic salt and added mixed veggies to the pasta to give it a bit of color! I will make again. Love that it is low cal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2015
This was quick and easy to make and very good. Everything came together well. We added shrimp to the dish, sprinkled parsley from our garden on top, and voila, dinner was ready, with a side of green beans and a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2015
I added fresh mushrooms and precooked fajita chicken breast slices (in frozen food section) to recipe. I sauteed sliced mushrooms and the minced garlic in about 1 tbsp of the reduced fat margarine, removed the mushrooms from pan and set aside, then continued with step 2 (in the same pan). After stirring other ingredients until smooth, I added mushrooms and chicken into mixture and cooked over low heat, stirring as needed to keep it from burning, until warm. Served over pasta per recipe. It was soooo good. I had leftovers that I froze in 1 serving containers. It tasted just as good reheated. Thank you Linda Lou for a tasty "lighter" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gramma08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Gate, California, USA
Living In: Kingwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This recipe may taste lighter, but if you compare the nutritional numbers with the Angel Hair Pasta with Garlic Shrimp & Broccoli recipe, which uses heavy whipping cream, this one has less fiber and more carbohydrates, fat & cholesterol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Excellent! Added fresh squash and grilled chicken to Alfredo sauce. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
Excellent, easy recipe for garlic lovers like our family! As suggested, adding cooked chicken, beef, or seafood makes a delicious meal even better! Veggies such as broccoli & cauliflower are all good in it. I've used this recipe multiple times in multiple combinations & it's always well-received!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue Zappa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2015
This was too bland, and part of the deliciousness of fettuccine is the richness of the sauce. You can always cut back on the butter and the cream slightly, to eliminate some of the calories and fat, but you need it and good cheese for real flavor. Use the real thing, and have it less often. Cream cheese is not a good substitute. Also, 12 ounces of pasta would never feed 6 people in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2015
Great basic recipe. I added fresh mushrooms and two cans of clams with their juice, cut the cheese in half & still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
I make this recipe except no onion salt, and instead of margarine I use a cup of chicken broth. Let the whole thing simmer for about 5 minutes - thickens right up. Enough sauce for a pound of pasta. Also use light cream cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 88) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lighter Spaghetti Alfredo

See how to make a lighter version of Alfredo with cauliflower.

Lighter Chicken Fettuccine Alfredo

See a lighter but still delicious version of chicken fettuccine Alfredo.

Chicken Alfredo with Fettuccini Noodles

This chicken Alfredo pasta dish is rich and satisfying.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States