Lighter Chocolate Chip Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2009
I never thought of there being healthy yet tasty pancakes. I give 5 stars for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Omelet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 because the baking powder was a bit much, but my husband can't taste it and he liked it. The only other change I'd make is to add a tsp of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ajoy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
Very good pancakes with a few changes. 2 teaspoons of baking powder is plenty, I also added 1 teaspoon vanilla. I used butter & real sugar but just 2 Tablespoon sugar - probably doesn't need it. Next time I'll substitute applesauce for butter. Great texture and flavor. My kids loved them too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2010
Very good! I used 2 tablespoons of applesauce in place of half the margerine. I also used a little less baking powder (probably 4 teaspoons or so) as other reviewers said they could taste it. Served with banana maple syrup from this site and it was a great breakfast treat. These did not taste "light" at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Lighter CC Pancake Haiku: "Less baking powder! Otherwise these were yummy. Nom, nom, nom pancake." I liked these pancakes, but not quite as much as "Pancakes I", which I think I'd tweak with the "lighter" ingredients of these instead. I used all WW flour, and split the marg. w/ 2 TB applesauce. There's something so, as Homer Simpson would say, "groin-grabbingly transcendent" about melty chocolate chip explosions in the center of a pancake, and these were good, but I think the author of the recipe perhaps meant 2 TSP of b. powder not TB?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
I soured my milk with a little lemon juice and I used regular granulated sugar because that was all I had. I also don't keep margerine in my house, so I used melted butter. I didn't fold the chocolate chips into the batter, I sprinkled them on top of each portion of pancake batter after I ladled it on the griddle. My kids (and I'll tell you, so did my husband!) loved these pancakes. They didn't need much embelishment, I just added a little butter and honey over the top. HUGE hit. Next time, I'd like to try these with a little ground cinnamon and nutmeg and use Hershey's cinnamon chips. I'll cut back on the baking powder next time as well. NOTE: If I was making them for a breakfast where I was eating, I'd make them even lighter by using applesauce in place of half or even most of the butter and eggs and I'd use two egg whites in place of one of the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
My hubby and I both thought these were very good, and liked that they are a bit healthier than other pancake recipes. I used 1 cup whole wheat flour and 3/4 of a cup all-purpose flour. I also used 1/4 cup applesauce in place of the margarine, and used brown sugar instead of demerara, as I didn't have any. Delicious, a nice light dinner (I'm a BIG fan of breakfast food for supper).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
I thought these were pretty good. I changed the servings to 6 with the calculate button and got 5 pancakes. I wanted to try this recipe, to test some white whole wheat flour I bought. I didn't have wheat germ, so I subbed it with an equal amount of quick oats to keep the balance of wet to dry ingredients. For the milk, I used 2%, and for the demera sugar I used regular. It wasn't much anyway. I realized I had only a little over half the amount of chocolate chips suggested and it worked fine. I did use the mini type though. The only downside, is I don't normally cook with pan spray and found it burns quickly, even on medium. So, I did have to rinse the pan after every pancake or 2. Either way, it made a good and filling breakfast. ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
replaced butter with applesauce kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Collins, Iowa, USA
Living In: Ankeny, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I don't usually add change things, but my daughter wanted brown sugar in them. Did 3 Tbl brown and 1 Tbl white sugar. I added 1/4 c. flaxseed meal for health benefits, did 1/8 c. butter and added 1/4c applesauce. Applesauce is what started the quest for making pancakes this morning. we left out the choc chips. REALLY good! my kids love them. Light and fluffy. in the past, some recipes I have made are dense and taste very "nutty" These are WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Chocolate Chip Waffles

Make a sweet treat for breakfast with this recipe for chocolate chip waffles.

Banana Chocolate Chip Bread

Super moist and delicious banana bread with chocolate chips.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

See how to make moist, spiced pumpkin muffins loaded with chocolate chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States