Lighter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
Wow, these were good! I followed everyone's advice and added 4oz unsweetened applesauce, 4 bananas instead of 3, 1 tsp. of cinnamon and vanilla, and added some brown sugar sprinkled on top. Great advice! Made 12 large muffins. Fill them all the way to the top, they make really beautiful crowns. They stick to the paper, but taste oh so yummy. Thanks for the receipe and advice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
362 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2006
These muffins were very yummy and moist, and surprisingly fat free. Many people said their muffins came out a little dry so I added an extra banana and 1/4 cup of skim milk. Also, I used 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 1 cup of white and added some cinnamon and vanilla. I replaced white sugar with brown sugar and I found that 3/4 cups of sugar was too sweet for my taste so I would reduce it to 1/2 cup next time. Overall, the muffins were delicious and I would definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
204 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2002
I've made banana muffins many times, and I must say that these are the ultimate! They were moist and delicious! I added a few more bananas and had to cook them for a little longer, but it was worth the wait! I was impressed by the way they puffed up so well! I also made muffin tops with this recipe, simply by plopping the dough in cirles on a baking sheet! Scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2002
I added an extra banana and 1/4 cup skim milk. I also substituted Splenda for the sugar. They came out very tasty and were nice and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2006
I was so impressed that there is no oil or margarine in these! They are really good. I substituted 1/2 C oats and 1/2 C whole wheat flour for one of the cups of flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2002
I found these muffins to be a little dry, but very tasty. Next time I would add some unsweetened applesauce or maybe an additional banana. I also added some vanilla and cinnamon to mine, but I'd probably go with a dash of nutmeg next time instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2002
Pretty good muffin, but the batter was very thick and I thought it needed modifying. Which, I did ;) Yielded 12 muffins. My modifications: 4 bananas instead of 3 added 1/4 c ff milk to thin the batter 3 egg whites instead of whole eggs splenda instead of sugar For the flour, I went ahead and used 1 c white, 1 c whole wheat, because I usually do that, but it does give a heavier flavor. I also added some nutmeg, and when the muffins were prepped in the tin I sprinkled a bit of additional splenda with some cinammon or nutmeg over the tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2002
I am glad that I tried these muffins. While they are a bit chewy due to the lack of oil, the trade off is worth it. Knowing that they are low fat makes you feel better about eating them. I am tired of oil and sugar saturated muffins, so these are great. I added half a teaspoon of cinnamon and used four bananas because that is what I had, also added three eggs by mistake so that shows you they are fool proof.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2002
They tasted quite good, especially because they were fat-free. They were easy to make, but the texture of the muffins turned out to be different from ordinary muffins. I suggest to add 1/2~1 more banana in chunks to make the muffins more moist and improve the texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2002
Was it me? I must of done something wrong. My muffins came out dry and chewy even though I followed the recipe to a T . I'll give this another try again, maybe it was just one of them days for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States