Lighter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These were alright, following other reviewers' suggestions, I added 1 extra banana, and 1 extra egg (I didn't have any applesauce). They turned out fine, a lighter muffin, although they did stick to the paper a bit, I was still able to remove papers without difficulty/ripping. I was just disappointed in the lack of flavor. Don't get me wrong- it tasted like bananas, I guess after trying this recipe I've learned that in baked goods, I prefer to couple bananas with complimentary spices such as nutmeg, cinnamon, etc. From now on when I want banana muffins, I'll just take my favorite banana bread recipe and divide it into a muffin pan- it turns out great & the flavor is the comforting, delicious taste I anticipate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had to scale the amount back as I only had 2 bananas. I also added some 1% milk (maybe 2 T) and light sour cream (also 2 T), which added moisture. Sprinkled some chopped nuts on top during the last half of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
adequate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
They just came out of the oven! I added a 1/4c of unsweetened apple sauce, used Splenda and Egg Beaters instead of sugar and eggs. Added a splash of vanilla and cinnamon. The calorie savings from the Splenda and Egg Beaters allowed me to throw in a 1/4 of nuts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made these yesterday. I made a double batch. I used 4 bananas per batch, unsweetened apple sauce, cinnimon and vanilla like HEATHERALAPEACH did. They were good but a little on the chewy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I made these muffins using a few others suggestions.. the applesauce made them extra moist! Also instead of brown sugar (I was out) I used just a dab of powdered sugar.. They turned out fantastic. The pan I used made 6 large muffins and they were all gone in a matter of a few hours! Thanks for the great recipie I will definitely make these again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wicked

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Family<3
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
These muffins are excellent! I did add an extra banana and 1/4 cup of skim milk as others had suggested. I also used walnuts and added some on top prior to putting them in the oven, which made for an excellent appearance. They did take close to 30 minutes to cook though. I will make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
Excellent! Next time I will add a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg for variety!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Super delish! Love the low fat recipe, my husband too! He scarfed down at least three (that i know of) after dinner! I did use 4oz of apple sauce as previously noted and also added 1 tspn of cinammon and 1 tspn of vanilla, 4 bananas vs 3. Will defintely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BonApetit

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lufkin, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
Definitely add more bananas. Otherwise, this recipe is pretty good for something that has no oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States