Lighter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
very tasty. I used brown sugar (1/2cup) instead of white and prior to baking topped with brown sugar as suggested by other reviewers. Added an extra banana, nutmeg, and cinnamon. Great quick breakfast for the kidlets. with the changes it still made 10 muffins
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
This was delicious! I made the adjustments others recommended: I added an extra banana, cinnamon, applesauce, and vanilla. These were super banana flavored. I also substituted glueten free all purpose flour for the regular. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zeeland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2011
I love this recipe! It's a good foundation to make great and light banana muffins. It *DOES* need applesauce for moisture though! And even if you do not enough bananas? you can just add more apple sauce! (3.5 oz. more instead of one banana) Want it with a richer flavor? Add cinnamon and vanilla! The muffins are great and you won't feel too bad giving it to your family because you know they have no fat. Just make sure the bananas are overripe (if they are almost all black it's better) and just mash them with a fork (it's important to not over beat!) just mix it all with a fork to incorporate all the ingredients. I use this recipe all the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paloma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Allis, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
FANTASTIC. After reading reviews added 1/2 cup of unsweetened applesauce, 1/2 cup of raisins, 1/2 cup of walnuts, used 4 bananas that were not ripe, wholewheat flour and brown sugar in the measurements in recipe, baked for 20 mins. So moist and delicious, couldn't believe something so simple could taste so good and that I actually made it!!! Thank you for submitting this recipe. I will make it regularly, Thank you also other reviewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
AWESOME with some tweaks.... I used whole wheat flour and added 3 generous TBSP of ground flaxseed, substituted 1/2 cup splenda and 1/2 cup brown sugar instead of white, added 2 single serving cups of unsweetened blueberry applesauce, used 5 small bananas, added cinnamon and chopped up some fresh strawberries that I had on hand.....YUM!!! Super moist and full of goodness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alison Whalley-Pen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
These were alright, following other reviewers' suggestions, I added 1 extra banana, and 1 extra egg (I didn't have any applesauce). They turned out fine, a lighter muffin, although they did stick to the paper a bit, I was still able to remove papers without difficulty/ripping. I was just disappointed in the lack of flavor. Don't get me wrong- it tasted like bananas, I guess after trying this recipe I've learned that in baked goods, I prefer to couple bananas with complimentary spices such as nutmeg, cinnamon, etc. From now on when I want banana muffins, I'll just take my favorite banana bread recipe and divide it into a muffin pan- it turns out great & the flavor is the comforting, delicious taste I anticipate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
I had to scale the amount back as I only had 2 bananas. I also added some 1% milk (maybe 2 T) and light sour cream (also 2 T), which added moisture. Sprinkled some chopped nuts on top during the last half of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2011
adequate
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2011
They just came out of the oven! I added a 1/4c of unsweetened apple sauce, used Splenda and Egg Beaters instead of sugar and eggs. Added a splash of vanilla and cinnamon. The calorie savings from the Splenda and Egg Beaters allowed me to throw in a 1/4 of nuts :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
I made these yesterday. I made a double batch. I used 4 bananas per batch, unsweetened apple sauce, cinnimon and vanilla like HEATHERALAPEACH did. They were good but a little on the chewy side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States