Lighter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 7 Garcias

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Provincetown, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly and the muffins were good for a lighter option but definitely needed something. The nuts were a huge plus! Next time I will try some of the other suggestions given by other users.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Really good! A little chewy but that is to be expected with no oils. Great flavor! I took the below advice and added applesauce, cinnamon, vanilla and an extra banana. I sprayed the paper liners with pam so they didn't stick, and filled them to the top. Baked for 23 mins and Ended up with 11 perfectly risen muffins, yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
I had 1.5 REALLY ripe bananas and didn't know what to do with them until I found this recipe. I halved it and ended up with 9 small muffins (actually, they were the standard size that muffins used to be...). I used silicone muffin cups and they came out with ease. The muffins were a bit chewy but had a good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
Great recipe! I used 4 bananas and folded in about a 1/2 cup chocolate chips. Took about 25 minutes to bake, but texture is great and taste is even better! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
These muffins are really good, they tend to be a bit chewy as they contain no fat, but a great muffin all the same. I did as others suggested and added a snack size container of applesauce as well as an extra banana along with vanilla and cinnamon. I sprinkled the tops with brown sugar and only added 1/2 cup sugar to the recipe and they are sweet enough. A great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is an excellent recipe. I used 4 bananas too and 1/4 cup of applesauce only 1/2 cup sugar, cinnamin and vanilla, little br. sugar on top. Also used Do You Care going green paper muffin cups and nothing stuck...they were perfect moist and very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debs
Home Town: Aurora, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
Much better than I expected! I added a little cinnamon and vanilla, but other than that I followed the recipe. The muffin is slightly denser than other banana bread recipes that I have, but considering this has 0 fat it is pretty impressive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
My kids love these muffins but add the cinnamon and vanilla for extra flavor. And use extra bananas as well as the applesauce. They will stick to the papers. Just spray(grease) the muffin tin and they will come out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
Small changes, otherwise, a great recipe...bottom line, these were so yummy! My Mom-in-Law taught me the applesauce vs oil trick, but I also added 1 tsp baking powder, which makes them rise a little more, creating a lighter muffin. My southern roots, however, couldn't resist melted butter & brown sugar with dry oats for the topping. I put just a tsp on top and I get rave reviews from our friends...always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thegoddess

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Daytona Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 426) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States