Lighter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
I loved this recipe and tgat butter was not included!! I did everything this recipe called for but added a tsp. vanilla and sprinkled a couple choclate chips on top. They were deffinetely delicious. This was a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Clease
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
I made these per the posted recipe and they are very moist,sweet and light. None of the heaviness that you sometimes get with Banana Bread. I will turn to this recipe anytime I have over-ripe bananas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Even lighter: I substituted 4 egg white for the 2 eggs, added 1 tsp vanilla, 1 tsp cinnamon, used 1 1/2 cup flour (I lowered this due to the added protein powder. If you don't used protein powder then use the full 2 cups), 2 scoops vanilla protein powder (like MRM), added 6 oz unsweetened applesauce, 1 small box raisins, 1/2 cup chopped nuts, and I used 1/4 cup xylitol instead of the sugar. This made 12 muffins if you fill them all to the max. I used paper liners and sprayed each with nonstick spray. (I think a few extra calories are worth the easy clean-up and for the liners to come off easy. ) I sprinkled a little bit of brown sugar and placed a slice of banana on top of each muffin. I had to cook for the full 25 mins. These little muffins are moist, dense, and have extra protein. This makes them great for a mid-morning snack. (Extra healthy: You could also use oat flour. Just throw quick oats in a blender. I would only swap 1/2 of the AP flour for oat flour. Oat flour contains more protein, dietary fiber and calcium, making it another healthy ingredient substitution.) Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
very good muffin, followed recipe but added a bit of milk, some crushed almonds and made a topping of oatmeal,cinnamon,& brown sugar. very tasty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Deux-Montagnes, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
Just made these... yum! Added a dash of cinnamon, vanilla and about 1 cup of natural applesauce. Very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
I tried this recipe using Quick cooking Mother's oats grinded down to flour texture (using Bella rocket blender), adding 1t. cornstarch as a binder and 1/4 c. Pure maple syrup as sugar substitute. Very tasty and moist, almost similar to a bran muffin...but better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2013
Just made the muffins. They were very dry before baked. Used some vanilla almond milk to unstiffen the batter. Came out okay. Will make again but will make some adjustments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
great recipe besides bananas I also used strawberries and replaced one cup of regular flour with wheat flour, great taste and healthy. I am thinking about using chocolate chips next time I will deff let you know how it comes out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
Good idea starter for when you are out of butter. I was feeling adventurous and changed it up a bit. The reviews mentioned dryness, so I added vanilla protein shake and almond milk, plus one extra banana and (this will sound crazy, but it was delicious) goat cheese. I had looked at some other banana bread recipes and decided to add 1 cup sugar, 1 tsp. baking soda, cinnamon, hemp powder (for added protein) and chocolate chips. Perhaps I changed this enough to post my own recipe. But thank you for the basic starter idea. The result of my muffin experiment was tasty, moist and wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I loved this recipe, and so did my little siblings. I made a few changes to the recipe though. I added 1/4 cup almond milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and cinnamon, and an extra banana. I also reduced the sugar to about 1/2 cup, part white and brown sugar. I sprinkle a tiny bit more brown sugar on top. It made 12 muffins, and took a little longer to bake. Theywere really fluffy and good without butter. For a little extra, I made some maple glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 438) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States