Lighter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
Very good! Although I modified the recipe a bit based on other reviews.. I used 4 bananas, 4 oz of unsweetened apple sauce, I cut out the white sugar all together and used 1/2 cup of brown sugar instead. I used 1.5 cup of wheat flour and 3 egg whites instead of 2 whole eggs. I also added 1 tsp of vanilla and a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg! Very moist! I made 6 large muffins instead of 12 small ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
Wow these muffins were great. I used artificial sugar and 1 teas of vanilla and 1 teas of cinnimon. Got the calorie count down to 145 cal per muffin, but I used 4 banana's about 7" long that were really, really ripe...really filling, o and I didn't use the nuts, but I bet that would really make them extra good. But was trying to keep the cal count low.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sharon, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
These were good but not as great as I hoped. Perhaps some of my modifications didn't work. I added one more banana and 1/4 cup of applesauce. I also added a tsp of cinnamon and vanilla. I used splenda instead of sugar. I think that next time I will try to use 1/2 cup of spenda and 1/4 cup sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I tweaked the reacipe following some of the comments and added 1/4 cup cream and about 1 tsp vanilla. I used only 1/2 cup sugar (brown) instead of the 3/4 in the recipe. They came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2010
VERY GOOD! I did what other people said and added 1/4 cup of skim milk, 1 teaspoon of vanilla and an extra banana. They were very moist and everyone loved them. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I was really impressed that this muffin was moist since it had no fat in it. I used 1/2 c oats and 1/2 c unbleached wheat flour with the 1 c white as per another reviewer, also I used 4 bananas and 1/4 c lowfat buttermilk. I also used 1/2 Diabetasweet brown sugar subt. This was a muffin one can feel good about eating. I added nuts to mine but when I make them again I will use mini chocolate chips. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I listened to others and used: -1/2 cup of brown sugar -1/4 cup skim milk -some vanilla extract -4 bananas I made mini muffins and baked them for 10 minutes! They were a bit plain for my liking, so i would recomend adding walnuts or chocolate chips (dark chocolate to be healthier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Pluckebaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This Banana muffins are great, very tasty and yummy! I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and the taste was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lara
Living In: Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I am so glad I tried this recipe! I have made this recipe in a variety of ways in the last 2 days! (overloaded on bananas...freezing them for easy breakfast later) I tried the straight recipe and they were like others said a little chewy but not bad, we like them. Then tried what some others said by adding an extra banana, this was much better. They turned out less chewy and more bread like. Some I have added different amounts of cinnamon, but my favorite by far are the banana with chocolate chips! Can't go wrong with these muffins. I like to play around so I am going to try adding Craisins in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I thought these were delicious for not having any butter/oil in them. However I did add some vanilla, cinnamon and 1/4 cup if skim milk because before adding the milk the 'batter' to this was more dough-like than anything. They weren't dry, but they were more dense than regular banana bread/muffins. Ill continue to use this recipe, with the changes I made, whenever I have extra bananas... it was very easy to make. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 434) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States