Lighter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I was really impressed that this muffin was moist since it had no fat in it. I used 1/2 c oats and 1/2 c unbleached wheat flour with the 1 c white as per another reviewer, also I used 4 bananas and 1/4 c lowfat buttermilk. I also used 1/2 Diabetasweet brown sugar subt. This was a muffin one can feel good about eating. I added nuts to mine but when I make them again I will use mini chocolate chips. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
I listened to others and used: -1/2 cup of brown sugar -1/4 cup skim milk -some vanilla extract -4 bananas I made mini muffins and baked them for 10 minutes! They were a bit plain for my liking, so i would recomend adding walnuts or chocolate chips (dark chocolate to be healthier!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Pluckebaum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
This Banana muffins are great, very tasty and yummy! I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose flour and the taste was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lara
Living In: Bucaramanga, Santander, Colombia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I am so glad I tried this recipe! I have made this recipe in a variety of ways in the last 2 days! (overloaded on bananas...freezing them for easy breakfast later) I tried the straight recipe and they were like others said a little chewy but not bad, we like them. Then tried what some others said by adding an extra banana, this was much better. They turned out less chewy and more bread like. Some I have added different amounts of cinnamon, but my favorite by far are the banana with chocolate chips! Can't go wrong with these muffins. I like to play around so I am going to try adding Craisins in the next batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I thought these were delicious for not having any butter/oil in them. However I did add some vanilla, cinnamon and 1/4 cup if skim milk because before adding the milk the 'batter' to this was more dough-like than anything. They weren't dry, but they were more dense than regular banana bread/muffins. Ill continue to use this recipe, with the changes I made, whenever I have extra bananas... it was very easy to make. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Ah, they are good but a little on the dry side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacie Bonner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hornbeck, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I had two very ripe bananas that I didn't want to waste and so only made half the recipe. I added vanilla and about a tablespoon of half and half. With the extra amount of banana, vanilla, and cream, this made 7 nice size muffins. I was really careful and tested these so as not to overbake, and I wouldn't say that they were dry, but the texture is significantly different than banana bread made with oil and/or butter. This would probably not be my first pick for a banana muffin, but I might make them again, especially if I'm looking for a way to use a couple of ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
A little bit dry but I also made as is, next time will try with some of the other suggestions, this recipe has potential!! I want to make it work, I also like not having to put butter or oil into the mix
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
A little dry but still really good. Made for the first time exactly to the recipe. Modifications for next time: *whole wheat flour instead of white *brown sugar instead of white Will add: *1/2 c unsweetened applesauce *1/2 cup oats *1/4 cup milk The batter was quite think and I worried as I put them into my muffin pans that they would ne heavy little lumps but they came out just fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2009
Perfect! Will use as my standard banana muffin recipe. Took the advice of others and used 4 smaller bananas, 1 tsp of vanilla, some cinnamon, and 1/4 c milk. I didn't cut back on sugar and I think it was perfect. LOVE not having to have oil or butter on hand to bake something fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worland, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Hilliard, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 429) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States