Lighter Banana Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2015
I never tried the original recipe. I followed some of the suggestions that people tried, and I absolutely LOVE these muffins. You have to do what I did. Follow the original recipe with these changes: 1. 4 bananas (instead of 3) smashed with 4oz of applesauce and 1 tsp vanilla (along with the eggs required for recipe) 2. 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose flour 3. No white sugar, use 1/2 cup brown sugar 4. Add 1 tsp cinnamon Try sticking a toothpick in the muffins after 20 minutes in the oven, mine are fully cooked at this point and super moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2015
I've tried other low fat recipes and this one came out excellent! Folding the mixture slowly instead of mixing is the key. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John Pasola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2015
I've made quite a few banana breads in my time and this was the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2015
I did what others suggested, and used 1/2 cup applesauce, 1 tsp cinnamon, and 1 tsp vanilla. I only had 3 bananas though-came out perfectly! I left the muffins overnight in a covered container-must do this!! I woke up and they were SUPER moist!! Highly recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika Shults

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2015
I would of given this 3 stars but my step daughter insisted on given it 4. I followed the recipe exactly and they lacked some flavor. They werent too bad though and all were eaten. Made them again adding 2 tsp of vanilla and cinnamon. And a third a cup of applesauce and those changes helped alot. With the changes I would rate this 5 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Turned out great. I doubled the banana and added some vanilla and used brown sugar. Very moist and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by teoani
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
I followed the recipe, and added 4 bananas instead, just because I had one more and many reviews said it was too dry. I also added chocolate chips in the batter, then raisins and cinnamon powder as topping. Batter was the right consistency. Turned out just right after 45 minutes of baking. So I believe the recipe is one banana too few.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by teoani

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Great recipe & very versatile. I have added blueberries, mini choc chips and diced strawberries. I also sub half of the flour with flax meal. Taste great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
These are very good, although I changed up the recipe a little after reading reviews. Instead of 2 cups flour, I used 1.5 cups flour and .5 cup of oats. I lowered sugar to .5 cup. I added 1 tsp cinnamon, 1 tsp vanilla, and 1/4 cup milk. Oh, and I reduced salt to 1/2 teaspoon. The muffins turned out delightfully chewy with a strong banana flavor. I love the texture - I think it's better than typical banana bread. I will definitely be using this as my go-to recipe from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Absolutely LOVE them... Trying to eat healthier, I substituted 1 cup of the flour with Flaxsead meal and used Stevia instead of sugar. Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 440) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States