Light Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2015
Very gooey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2014
It was... ok. The only variation I used in the recipe was using sour cream due to my lack of buttermilk in the house. The rest was according to the page. I dunno, it just lacked.... something. I'm not sure what it was. I served this with a turkey I had done in the slow cooker, so we had gravy to pour over it, and that seemed to add the savory factor it was just lacking. I can see this recipe excelling maybe with some sausage or something like that. Also some garlic wouldn't hurt either. I am not a fan of the raw onion. I think the next time I will finely chop and sautee the onions first to mellow them out and sweeten them. I will repost when I try some variations. Oh and I DIDN'T have any gooey issues, I had shredded zucchini after an over abundance and I was tired of making zucchini bread. So, I had it in a plastic bag, which I opened slightly and basically rolled and squeezed all the excess liquid out of it. Worked out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate GR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2014
Made this for dinner tonight and with a few of the modifications suggested by others and my husband and I just loved it! I did a large chop on the zucchini and a medium chop on the onion, used half parmesan and half cheddar cheeses, added some seasonings to boost the flavor. I think I may add some fresh spinach the next time I make this dish...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Definately making again! I didn't have Parmesan so I used Mozarella cheese. Didn't use onion, unfortunately I'm allergic to onion. I wasn't sure if the biscuit baking mix was suppose to be prepared or just the dry ingredient.So I put it in dry and I'm glad I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2013
This turned out great! Better than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Very easy and a little healthier than several do the zucchini casseroles on this site. I used sour cream instead of buttermilk and one egg, and minced my onions instead of grating (personal preference). Also added crushed red pepper after reading the reviews about it being bland....be careful though, I almost made it too spicy for my kids to eat. Cooked it exactly one hour in a glass pie pan and it came out great, not mushy. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
My husband and daughter say this recipe tastes like something grandma would have made. Creamy and mashed potato-y. I have to agree. This is a definite do again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
This was tasty.. I used 1 pound 9 ounces of mixed summer squash and threw in a few shredded carrots. I think next time I might use a different cheese... good basic recipe with lots of room for modifications.. It did need lots of seasoning for my tastes though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
This recipe sounded appetizing and simple, but I really liked some of the substitutions of other members. I also used sour cream in place of the buttermilk and added an egg. I included sweet onions and 1 orange pepper. I added a few dashes of Garlic and Pepper Mrs. Dash for some extra flavor with a cup of Italian blend cheeses instead of the Parmesan.The final product was excellent and not gooey like some of the other members mentioned. It actually set like a quiche. I didn't shred the Zucchini, but quartered it instead. Maybe that made a big difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2011
This casserole was delicious! I followed the directions and it turned out wonderfully. Plus, we have enough to eat tomorrow with dinner too. Thanks for the delicious recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Cream Cheesy Zucchini

See how to make a creamy, delicious zucchini side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States