Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2013
These turned out a very nice looking, light, airy roll. We all liked them. Pretty easy process. I just let the bread machine do the kneading and first rise and the rest was a peice of cake, just need the time. Although I'm not the biggest wheat bread fan I can't hold that against a good roll when I have one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
These were light, fluffy and delicious! It was a humid day, so I had to add some extra all purpose flour to get the dough the right consistency, but they came out perfectly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
Wow, Katrina, thanks so much for submitting this recipe! I made these in the Kitchen Aid, using the dough hook. I followed the recipe precisely, except it needed less white flour to start pulling away from the bowl. Also, I baked them on cookie sheets, and got a dozen nice-sized rolls. I will be making them again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
This was the first time I made rolls, and they were delicious! It wasn't difficult at all, just took a lot of time! I just made them into balls on a cookie sheet, so they weren't much to look at, but they tasted delicious! Next time I will start earlier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mommajen
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Yum!! My kids gobbled them up as they came out of the oven!! I used robin hood nutri (blend of unbleached flour and wheat bran) and I just made them into little balls (I got 30 out of this recipe) and baked on a cookie sheet. Also I skipped the extra butter brushed on top. DELISH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2013
This look very pretty but I found them lacking in flavor. If I were to try the recipe again, I would use milk instead of water, honey instead of sugar, or maybe add puréed squash or mashed potatoes for extra flavor and moisture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Oh my, what can I say to describe the joy I felt when I ate those rolls! DEVINE!!! I only made half the recipe (it's just my husband & I), I used 1.5 packages of yeast and the whole egg. I had to add a little more flour than the recipe called for as my dough was sticky. Other than that I sticked exactly to the recipe and the rolls looked so pretty and tasted even better! Thanks for a great recipe, it's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wiesbaden, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Great recipe! I made these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit! I formed the rolls into balls and baked on a cookie sheet. Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Navarre, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
These are good, but mine didn't rise as well as I'd hoped. They still had great flavor and were only a bit heavier than I wanted. I reduced the sugar to 1/3 cup, added an extra quarter cup of whole wheat flour and brushed with an eggwash instead of more butter. I also added an extra half teaspoon of salt as per a reviewer recommendation (but I used unsalted butter as well, so I don't think it was enough to affect the yeast). I was wary to use a third packet of yeast because I'm at a high altitude, but I think I'll try that next time (and be sure to use warmer water with more of the sugar in it for proofing the yeast, not to overwork the dough, and to let the dough rise in a warmer room). I'll update at a later date if my results are better the next time around. I don't think my less-than-perfect results were due to the recipe itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Blackfoot, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by theauthenticnut
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2013
I substituted margarine for butter and cut the dough into eight 5oz pieces and shaped them into oval shaped buns. I baked them at 350F for 18-20 minutes. They turned out to be the perfect size for sandwiches. I really liked the crumb of this bun, it was light and fluffy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pitt Meadows, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States