Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This recipe is VERY forgiving! Making these was my first experiment with yeast bread. I made some changes and mistakes, but the bread was still great! I have food intolerances and cannot eat store bought bread, so I decided to make a loaf and rolls. I used olive oil in place of butter, used 2.75 cups ww flour and about 1.5 cups AP flour, put too much dough in the loaf pan, made each roll too big and accidentally set the oven to 450 instead of 400. With all of my changes, the bread tasted great after 11 minutes. The crust is a little dark (but not burnt tasting) and the inside was i soft and delicious. I will make this recipe again and cook at the correct temperature. Thank you, I can eat bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Holy Cow these are the BEST bread I have ever made! I halved the recipe but still used 1 full egg. I was out of butter so I used my last bits of SmartBalance margarine...still short but you can't tell anything is wrong! Used my lazy no-dishes method: I mixed in the KitchenAid with the hook and didn't mix anything or beat egg 1st, etc.. just dumped it in and let it knead for a good long time. Once it pulls away I flour one hand and pull the dough out for a second. With the other hand I Misto olive oil right in the bowl... dough back in and cover with towel. Leave it right there to "punch down" with the mixer hook just a few secs and rest again. I made 12 balls and nested in a 10in circle silicone cake pan. AMAZING pull apart bread with just some honey on top. I didn't butter them before or after baking. They are so good you don't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Be sure to cook them long enough. They were a great addition to the backyard BBQ. I made them the night before. Yum... thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I have Searched for a recipe like this for years. My search is over! I love Black Eyed Peas Restaurant's wheat rolls and this is the recipe. Thanks for sharing a long sought after recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was the first bun recipe I ever tried, and it turned out perfectly! I won't keep looking, as this tastes great, and I feel with the whole wheat flour, it must be 'healthier' than some. I use yeast from a jar, and according to earlier reviewers and web searches .25 oz = 1/2 tblsp, so as is, the recipe needs 1 tbspl of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
I have been making these rolls for over a year now and they have NEVER failed. I always get great comments on them. They have a great texture and are just YUMMY. I follow the recipe almost exactly, only omitting the second 1/4 cup of butter (would taste great, but I don't miss it one bit and it cuts the fat in half). I also just divide the dough into balls and bake. Takes much less time and my family doesn't mind the less gourmet presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2011
Very yummy! Best straight out of the oven. Made the dough with my Kitchenaid....used a little extra flour....made 17 large buns....Mmmmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
Made the dough in the bread machine and did not use the "spiral" method but rather divided the dough into 24 balls. They turned out too be one of the biggest hits at my Easter table! Very good! Thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Photo by shmartigogle
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
I love these! I make them extra large and they are delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shmartigogle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
These do take a bit of rising time to make, but they're SO delicious and well worth the wait! I will be making them again VERY soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States