Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I cut this recipe down to 12 servings. I made two small changes; I used milk instead of water and I doubled the yeast, using two envelopes fora halved recipe. (The reason I did this was because I've always had issues making whole wheat bread/rolls so I wanted to be sure this one would work.) I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm milk in my mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the beaten egg, melted butter, then all the dry ingredients. This dough needed 3/4 cup more flour to form a ball. I kneaded it with my dough hook for five minutes, then set it to rise on a warm heating pad in a greased and covered bowl for an hour. Once it doubled, I formed the rolls using a dry 1/4 inch measuring cup and set the formed rolls in a greased muffin tin. I set them to rise again on the warm heating pad, covered with saran wrap, for a half hour. 400* for 12 minutes and they were perfect. I brushed the tops with vegetable right out of the oven, as it gives them soft, bakery style tops. These rolls are absolutely delicious. I was worried that the sugar might be too much but it's really not. They're perfectly chewy but they also came out light and fluffy. Like something you'd get at a fancy bakery. VERY good. I'll use this recipe again. I think this would be really good with honey or light brown sugar in place of the granulated sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These are beautiful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I improvised these rolls a little by making them a little bigger to use as hamburger rolls. Holy moly! Were these rolls fantastic! Will be my go to wheat rolls from now on. The only thing I changed was the one egg (I was all out!). I used instead 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce. In the future, I'll probably cut the white sugar in half as it made the rolls a little sweeter than I was looking for. Otherwise! GREAT ROLL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spitfyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These are awesome. I've made them twice and both times they have turned out great. I always just roll them into balls and bake them on a cookie sheet. Brush some egg white on top for a nice shiny look. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I added about 1/4 of wheat gluten and used the All Natural/All Purose flour from Costco. They were chewy and had a nice crust. Each dough ball should be about 2 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This recipe is VERY forgiving! Making these was my first experiment with yeast bread. I made some changes and mistakes, but the bread was still great! I have food intolerances and cannot eat store bought bread, so I decided to make a loaf and rolls. I used olive oil in place of butter, used 2.75 cups ww flour and about 1.5 cups AP flour, put too much dough in the loaf pan, made each roll too big and accidentally set the oven to 450 instead of 400. With all of my changes, the bread tasted great after 11 minutes. The crust is a little dark (but not burnt tasting) and the inside was soft and delicious. I will make this recipe again and cook at the correct temperature. Thank you, I can eat bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zeezeebaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Dorchester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
Holy Cow these are the BEST bread I have ever made! I halved the recipe but still used 1 full egg. I was out of butter so I used my last bits of SmartBalance margarine...still short but you can't tell anything is wrong! Used my lazy no-dishes method: I mixed in the KitchenAid with the hook and didn't mix anything or beat egg 1st, etc.. just dumped it in and let it knead for a good long time. Once it pulls away I flour one hand and pull the dough out for a second. With the other hand I Misto olive oil right in the bowl... dough back in and cover with towel. Leave it right there to "punch down" with the mixer hook just a few secs and rest again. I made 12 balls and nested in a 10in circle silicone cake pan. AMAZING pull apart bread with just some honey on top. I didn't butter them before or after baking. They are so good you don't need it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
Be sure to cook them long enough. They were a great addition to the backyard BBQ. I made them the night before. Yum... thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer : )

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison Heights, Michigan, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I have Searched for a recipe like this for years. My search is over! I love Black Eyed Peas Restaurant's wheat rolls and this is the recipe. Thanks for sharing a long sought after recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2011
This was the first bun recipe I ever tried, and it turned out perfectly! I won't keep looking, as this tastes great, and I feel with the whole wheat flour, it must be 'healthier' than some. I use yeast from a jar, and according to earlier reviewers and web searches .25 oz = 1/2 tblsp, so as is, the recipe needs 1 tbspl of yeast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 351) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States