Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This recipe is great! Very light roll. I brushed butter on the dough before rolling into a spiral...also used rapid rise yeast. Put a little sugar in the yeast mixture. Thank you Katrina! Great Thanksgiving rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These are fantastic. The best roll recipe I've found so far. I just baked them free standing and didn't do the spiral thing. Also, add the sugar to the yeast and water at the start so the yeast has something to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reno, Nevada, USA
Living In: Federal Way, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
Turned out wonderful. :) Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zahra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nevada, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
These are fantastic! I used a bread machine on the dough cycle but otherwise followed the recipe (allow to rise in bowl, etc). It started to overflow in the bread machine but not too badly! I could tell by the feel of the dough that it was just perfect; rose and baked beautifully. Taste is great too!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2011
These are fabulous rolls. I didn't go through the extra labor of spiraling the dough, I just made 20 equal sized balls and set them onto a cookie sheet and slit an x on the top of each one for decoration. I bought some to the restaurant where I work and the chef thought I bought them at the bakery. Not sure if I should be pleased or insulted.. ;) Thanks for the recipe Katrina!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PAYE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: North Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2011
I cut this recipe down to 12 servings. I made two small changes; I used milk instead of water and I doubled the yeast, using two envelopes fora halved recipe. (The reason I did this was because I've always had issues making whole wheat bread/rolls so I wanted to be sure this one would work.) I used my Kitchen Aid mixer to make these rolls. I proofed the yeast with the sugar and warm milk in my mixer bowl for ten minutes, then added the beaten egg, melted butter, then all the dry ingredients. This dough needed 3/4 cup more flour to form a ball. I kneaded it with my dough hook for five minutes, then set it to rise on a warm heating pad in a greased and covered bowl for an hour. Once it doubled, I formed the rolls using a dry 1/4 inch measuring cup and set the formed rolls in a greased muffin tin. I set them to rise again on the warm heating pad, covered with saran wrap, for a half hour. 400* for 12 minutes and they were perfect. I brushed the tops with vegetable right out of the oven, as it gives them soft, bakery style tops. These rolls are absolutely delicious. I was worried that the sugar might be too much but it's really not. They're perfectly chewy but they also came out light and fluffy. Like something you'd get at a fancy bakery. VERY good. I'll use this recipe again. I think this would be really good with honey or light brown sugar in place of the granulated sugar, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These are beautiful and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2011
I improvised these rolls a little by making them a little bigger to use as hamburger rolls. Holy moly! Were these rolls fantastic! Will be my go to wheat rolls from now on. The only thing I changed was the one egg (I was all out!). I used instead 1/4 cup unsweetened apple sauce. In the future, I'll probably cut the white sugar in half as it made the rolls a little sweeter than I was looking for. Otherwise! GREAT ROLL RECIPE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spitfyre

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
These are awesome. I've made them twice and both times they have turned out great. I always just roll them into balls and bake them on a cookie sheet. Brush some egg white on top for a nice shiny look. They are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NikkiA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
This is a fantastic recipe. I added about 1/4 of wheat gluten and used the All Natural/All Purose flour from Costco. They were chewy and had a nice crust. Each dough ball should be about 2 oz.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 346) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States