Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2012
Easy and wonderfully light!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
My bread-making attempts usually turn out for the worse, but my mother had me make these for the holiday meal, and I tried them on my own later-- both times they turned out wonderfully! I didn't roll them up into spirals but made little dinner rolls on a cookie sheet, as I prefer, and they baked out very evenly. Well-worth the extra rising times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
Yum! I have tried many bread recipes for my family in the last few years, and my mom told me that this one was the best; in fact, I think I will always use this recipe for bread from now on! I made the rolls as described in the recipe, although I rolled out a sheet of dough, spread the butter, and then used floss to cut off rolls (like with a cinnamon roll recipe), which I then put in silicone muffin tins. I only did this with 1/3 the dough; I also made cinnamon rolls with 1/3 of the dough by spreading rolled out dough with melted butter and then sprinkling with cinnamon sugar/Splenda before rolling, cutting with floss, and placing in 9x13 pan. With the final third, I rolled the dough into rope lengths and then tied it in knots for some pretty rolls. The melted butter on top is unnecessary, in my opinion. I did substitute honey for 1/3 cup of the sugar and add 2 Tbsp wheat gluten, and I always use I Can't Believe It's Not Butter Light instead of real butter. Also, I ended up using a total of 3 C white whole wheat flour (from King Arthur Flour) and approx. 4 C all-purpose flour. Try this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
Very good recipe, will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I made these rolls to take with me for Christmas dinner. The hostess also had white dinner rolls that were store bought but my rolls disappeared first. Everyone raved about them. One guest even commented that they reminded him of the dinner rolls his late mother use to make when he was a little boy. I followed the recipe as written and baked them in cake pans instead of muffin tins. I even had to run to the grocery store while they were rising the first time and was gone for two hours and they still turned out great. All I can say is that they were delish! I will be making them again and again. Thanks for such an easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
These are awesome, with a few minor adjustments...first I added 1/3 c honey instead of using sugar and second, I added 4 T of gluten which made them so light and fluffy. I’m in heaven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Love this recipe! These are so great! I made them again today to bring to Christmas dinner tomorrow. These even turned out better this time then the first time I made them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Monika McDonough

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Delicious! When I make these, I only make half a recipe, so I use the remaining half egg and add a bit of sugar and some milk to brush on the tops instead of butter. These rolls are delightful and not at all finicky.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by inconsequential

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
These rolls were really wonderful. Thank you for the recipe. My only change for the next time I make them will be to add a bit more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Really easy and very tasty rolls. Beautiful when they come out of the oven. Definately make again instead of buying store bought rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bettyjobest

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States