Light Wheat Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
These were excellent -- light and soft, with great flavor! I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2010
My new favorite bread recipe! The first time I baked 1/2 of them as directed in the recipe, the other half I rolled into yummy cinnamon rolls. They were good but it wasn't exactly what I'd hoped for. Used the same recipe and rolled the dough into balls and baked as buns and WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Great recipe! This does indeed produce tender, fluffy rolls...you can hardly even tell that they contain whole wheat! They are also really pretty, with the pop-up swirl. The one problem I had with this recipe, though, is that there seemed to be to much dough. Some of the rolls got way to big...instead of the swirl popping out cinnamon-roll style, they got huge and spread out of the muffin pan, sticking to the roll next to it. When I make these again, I'll use some of the dough to make other rolls before I roll and cut, as stated in the recipe. Thanks for sharing...this is a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2010
WE LOVE THIS DOUGH I have: Added extra sugar to the dough and used it for cinnamon rolls, ++++++ Shaped it into every shape imaginable (including braided breads for special dinners)+++++++ Rolled it into long ropes, dipped it in a baking soda solution then baked it making pretzels. ++++++ Rolled it flat baked it on a griddle and used it as pan bread/ Flat bread (thicker than tortillas similar to pitas).++++++ Formed it into Pan Pizza Crust ++++++ I very regularly form it into 4 (9" X 15") very thin pizza crusts. I prebake them (450 deg for 8 minutes) then freeze 3 and add toppings to the 4th for dinner that night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
This is my new holiday bread stand-in. I followed the recipe exactly as written and was not disappointed. I baked it for Thanksgiving and Christmas last year, and will make it for Easter this spring. Always moist and tasty, it's the perfect accompaniment to a homey holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
Very light and tasty. I cut sugar in half and it was still sweet enough. I like it more salty, as a sandwich bun. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2010
This is a delicious recipe. I followed it exactly, except for reducing the amount of butter spread on top, Oh, I cheated and didn't roll them out, but just pinched off balls and made plain old rolls. I noticed that there were some comments giving this fewer stars because "the rolls don't have any flavor" or something similar. Please! This is not a recipe for garlic rolls, or savory herb rolls, or hot and spicy rolls (although as others have mentioned, it can be adapted to be such). This is a recipe for light wheat rolls, and that is exactly what you get. Those of us who appreciate good bread in and of itself without any need for added flavor, this is a keeper recipe. I did a triple batch and used my Bosch mixer to mix them, and it worked the dough just fine. This recipe is also definitely toddler approved. My 15 month old has had two already, and they are barely out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Zonya Gingrich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
This is "the" dinner roll recipe for my family. No need to look any farther. I usually save some time by skipping the steps that make them look like swirls. I just put balls of dough in the muffin tins. The taste alone is impressive enough. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manda
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
Great flavor and great texture. I didn't beat them down the second time I instead just let them rise for two hours while I was running errands. I came back, made them into rolls, and let them rise for 40 minutes and popped them in the oven. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2010
The dough for these rolls was very easy to make. As suggested by another poster, I spread garlic butter on the strips before rolling them. I found this to be a little fussy, as the rolls weren't all the same size. I baked them (2 dozen) lined up on a baking sheet. I froze them and pull them out to pack in my kids lunches, and they love them! I definitely like the lightness of the rolls so I will make them again, but maybe not swirl them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DENA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Okotoks, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Sweet Dinner Rolls

Use a bread machine to make fast work of this tasty dough. Yum!

Chef John’s Whole Wheat Ciabatta

See how to make a delicious whole-wheat version of classic ciabatta bread.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States