Light Pesto Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mkstevens09
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
I am giving this 5 stars for being a very very good light pesto recipe. I slightly prefer regular pesto with the oil in it, but this really tasted quite close to the "real" thing. I used fresh lemon juice when I made this and instead of serving with pasta, I stuffed it in chicken and baked it. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mkstevens09

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ortonville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lake Orion, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
I thought this was an excellent alternative to oily pesto. The only thing I changed was to use parmesan instead of romano (since that's what I had on hand), and added about 1/4 cup water to thin it out a little. I sprinkled mine with crushed red pepper flakes. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
I made the recipe as is at first, it was nice and had a little zing to it from the lemon. I made a second batch with olive oil and mixed it together. I like it best when mixed but can/will use just lemon juice in the future. It's a nice, small change to regular pesto.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kristykk
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
Delish pesto that's low fat, awesome! I subbed parmesan for romano, spinach for basil, and almonds for walnuts because that's what I had on hand... and drizzed in a couple tablespoons of olive oil. I served it over tortellini first then used the leftover in the "pesto cheesy chicken rolls" recipe on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kristykk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montross, Virginia, USA
Living In: Oakton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This is very zesty, definitely not your traditional pesto. If you are looking for a real pesto recipe, this is NOT it. It has a strange "kick" to it, and even though I love lemon I was a bit overwhelmed by the citrus. I did add a bit of olive oil after tasting it because it REALLY needed it for flavor and to make it stick to the pasta. As a regular recipe I would give this maybe 2 stars, but I am so thrilled to have a lower fat way to make pesto that I am giving it 3 stars. I might make this again, but I would DEFINITELY cut the lemon in half and add a bit of olive oil. Plus pesto should really be made with parmesan cheese and pine nuts, so next time I may make those substitutions as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2010
It was ok given how it is much lower in fat than regular Pesto. But the lemon flavor overwhelmed for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Wow! Was this ever delicious and mostly healthy. I threw in some extra garlic, spinach and one roasted red pepper. When tossing it with the spaghetti, I added just a tsp of olive oil so it served better. Will definitely make this again, and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michpoo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by traveling1
Reviewed: May 24, 2010
I used a combination of pine nuts and Brazil nuts and also added 2 sundried tomatoes. The taste was outstanding. I love how light and fresh this pesto is. I will never go back to the oily stuff again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
Delicious!! I used feta instead of Romano, and a few leaves of baby spinach since I didn't have a ton of basil leaves on my plants. I think we liked it even better than the pesto recipes with all the oil in them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Plymouth, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I was looking for a lighter recipe to satisfy my wife"s pesto cravings. I'm glad I found this one. This is absolutely incredible with seafood! We just tossed it with whole wheat angel hair pasta and threw in some freshly boiled shrimp. A super-easy weeknight "gourmet" meal! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States