Light or Dark Brown Sugar Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
Have been doing this for a while. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hilo, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
Works great. Easy, inexpensive and ready when you are in need of brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GFCDN
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
I am really pleased with the results. I think how dark it is depends on the type of Molasses. I got a med/dark sugar mix using 1 c sugar to 1 tbsp molasses, then added a bit more sugar, mixing it gently with a small whisk. My mixer would send it every everywhere as one reviewer mentioned. Brown sugar is crossed off my grocery list now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GFCDN

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I love this! Brown sugar is ridiculously expensive. This is such a great and inexpensive way to make and it's fresh every time! I found that using two of my high heat heavy duty cooking spatulas and pressing the sugar and molasses together did a fine job and I was done in less than 5 min. It did a but of muscle/elbow grease... but it worked out great! Thanks so much
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Very useful! I'll never buy dark or light brown sugar again. Made it up in minutes and most importantly, you can control the amount of "dark" or "light" you want allowing you another avenue for creativity in your cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2015
Thanks!! I make it this way all the time now! You definitely have to use the spill guard on a Kitchenaid stand mixer or it really does go everywhere. However, it doesn't fully incorporate. It still turns out really well though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2015
didn't need any changes and I plan to make it again as often as I have to. thanks for the tip
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I will never buy Brown or Dark sugar from a store ever again this is a awesome recipe I am so glad I found this easy to make and store I feel if you store it over night the flavors develop better just to let you know but if you need it it is good to use right after you make at love this recipe truly do and thank you JillH for sharing this with us
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2015
This was wonderful as I forgot to buy some at the store! The hand mixer was a little frustrating to use so I gave up and just used my fingers. Finally got it all mixed up in a few minutes and stored the rest in a mason jar. This will be unbelievably more convenient!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovestohost
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I found myself unexpectedly running low on brown sugar after a failed BBQ sauce attempt and, thankfully, remembered I'd just saved this *recipe*. I'd give this 5 stars, however, the preparation method did NOT work for me, it merely made our counters/floors a sticky mess and made me cranky. After the THIRD bowl change/hand mixer attempt, I decided to use my mini food processor and that was CLUTCH. It made short work of this, w/no mess, and gave me the results I desired. I'm still not sure what differentiates between light/dark? I made as written and the result was LIGHT, so if you're looking for dark, perhaps start w/doubling the molasses and go from there. THANKS for the save, JillH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Measure Brown Sugar

See the simple trick to measuring brown sugar.

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Coated Pecans

See how to make the perfect sweet snack.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States