Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Lovely bread! I use milk in place of water and they are even more yummy! Thank you very much for sharing! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hannies

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
This is my go-to bread recipe. I use a 1cup oats, 1 cup all-purpose and 1.5 cup whole wheat split for the flours. Have made it into dinner rolls - baked in the oven at 350 for 20 minutes...delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This bread was rather bland and didn't taste of oats. The ratio of liquid to dry ingredients is correct though. Will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2011
wonderful bread. instant fav for the family. great taste and texture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2011
My whole family loved this loaf. At my elevation (4000ft) it rose better with an added tblsp of white sugar and an extra half tsp of yeast. Thanks. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This bread is great. Its soft, has a slight oat flavor, and is great with butter and jam. A great, white bread. My new favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sackville, New Brunswick, Canada
Living In: Cold Lake, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This recipe was awesome even though I kind of screwed it up. Finished kneading the dough when I realized I had forgotten to add the butter (I don't use margarine for anything). I donned a pair of gloves to avoid having a greasy mess and began to carefully knead the butter into the dough. I did not add any extra flour. When I was done, the dough was smooth and elastic so I formed the loaf and let it rise. The result was the most tender, delicious, honey oat bread with just the right amount of sweetness. It made wonderful sandwiches. I used old fashioned oats which did not disappear into the dough for those of you who like to know they're there. Simply marvelous! My only complaint is that it doesn't last long enough and that comes from someone who almost never eats bread. Hint: for best moisture and texture, be very stingy with adding flour during the kneading process if you are forming your loaf by hand. Using vinyl gloves while working with a sticky dough keeps the hands clean and makes the dough easier to work with. UPDATE: I made this according to directions as written the 2nd and 3rd time and although the bread was still worthy of 5 stars, I found that kneading in the soft butter last yielded the very best bread ever! UPDATE 2: I learned from another site for the best bread, knead the dough for 7 minutes, let rest for 2 minutes, and knead for another 7 minutes before forming into a ball for the first rise. Works well by hand or mixer. PERFECT LOAF OF BREAD every tim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
Everyone likes this a lot. Makes great sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elkhorn, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
We love this bread and use it all the time. Only difference is we use melted butter instead of margarine. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
This is a solid 5 stars! Slices beautifully , Kids and husband gave it a seal of approval. I do cook it in the over because I prefer the Shape of the loaf.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lou's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 631) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States