Light Oat Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Very delicious. Made by hand, mostly following "Jules"'s comments. The first rise I left the bread covered in the mixing bowl for 30 mins, the second in the 9x5 loaf pan I left covered for about 15. At 350 degrees for 35 mins the bread was perfect. It rose up higher than I was expecting, but that was ok with me. Though you can see the oatmeal on the crust, you can't see the oatmeal inside. The oats give the bread a delicious chewy texture. A really great bread--not too sweet, salty, or bland. And the crumb is perfect after cooling. A great addition to our bread recipe collection. This first loaf will actually be shared with friends--proudly. :) Thanks, LITSTER5.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodObsessedMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Abingdon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
great bread. we make this at least twice a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cindyart98
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made this to dip in a homemade soup. I liked that it was light and contained oats, however it was quite dense and also very easily fell apart. So, I am not sure it was the best choice as a dipping bread. A tad on the bland side too, though it was quite easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cindyart98

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
Great bread! My friend made this and used one tablespoon of coconut cream and one tablespoon of butter. She also did half wheat and white flour and did 3 tablespoons of honey instead of brown sugar. EXCELLENT!! I doubled the recipe last night and loved it. I had to use oil instead of butter, because I ran out of butter. I also substituted honey for brown sugar and added a tad more yeast. It is such a hearty bread. Oh yea, I also added a tablespoon of flaxseed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
My family loves this bread - it makes great toast too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2011
Pretty good, but the dough was extremely sticking with the amount of flour suggested. I added at least another 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
made it as recipe states and it was wonderful! i'm fairly new to bread machine baking but i don't really think i need to look any further than this recipe. love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Good, made with White Whole Wheat flour, I might use honey next time instead of the brown sugar which did not add enough flavor. But had a great rise and a beautiful looking loaf!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAHAWKER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Royal Oak, Michigan, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
wow! made this bread exactly how it should be and my family loved it. used the bread machine how easy and tastes great!! made it twice in one day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
I made this with my new bread machine and I could not believe the results. This bread has a lightness and sponginess that is unparalleled. It is so delicious and healthy ( no preservatives) that I cannot see myself spending money on grocery bread again. This is an easy and awesome recipe. Will try the wholewheat version another reviewer used the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 632) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Gluten-Free White Bread

See how to make gluten-free white bread in your bread machine.

Bread Machine Bread

See how to make the perfect loaf of sandwich bread in your bread machine.

Alison's Gluten Free Bread

Tastes and looks just like wheat bread!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States